Personal Dating Agent: An Update

5 Mar

Following on from the post I write nearly a month ago about a dating service I was trying out called Personal Dating Agent, I thought I’d write an update. To be honest, it’s been quite a long and slow process but if I’m fair, I think that may just be because of my annoying knack of being attracted to men who don’t feel the same way about me.

As mentioned in my last post, my dating agent Natasha found 15 ‘matches’ for me but unfortunately only five of those guys tickled my fancy. As in, their profiles were interesting AND I fancied them too. Whilst I do love an interestingly witty, well-crafted profile I am also a believer of being at least a bit physically attracted to someone too.

Anyhoo, the five guys I liked? None of them responded to the well crafted messages Natasha sent out. Not one. Sod’s law, I bet the other 10 guys who I wasn’t interested in would’ve up for a bit of conversation. Ah well.

Bless her heart, Natasha has kept soldiering on and has kept searching for potential matches for me.  To her credit, she has run a few others past me since the initial 15 but unfortunately they haven’t been ones I’d want to progress with. For me I feel that there is no point in starting a conversation with someone unless I knew I’d potentially want to date them. I’m more open-minded than I used to be but at the same time, if I’m not attracted to them… I’m just not attracted to them.

When I first signed up to try out the PDA service, Natasha provided me with the log in details for the profiles she had set up for me on Match and OKCupid. As time went on I found myself logging in and having a look around because I’d find it interesting to see who she is winking at/approaching on my behalf plus I might even pick up a couple of tips on the best ways to start a conversation. I found it hard at times; relying on someone else to know what you find attractive isn’t easy. Seeing sent messages that say things you wouldn’t normal say. Part of the process is sitting back and letting someone else do all of the ‘hard work’ for you.

A couple of weeks ago Natasha and I tagged-teamed and came up trumps. I logged into my PDA Match account and saw that she came across someone she thought I’d like and had winked at him. He replied to the wink with a message and when I checked out his profile and read his message, I decided to take it upon myself to write back. I realised I might be stepping on Natasha’s toes a little but this guy had a great profile AND was quite a cutie too – I just couldn’t help myself! We hit it off and were pretty much exchanging messages everyday for a week and a half before he finally asked me out on a date.

Yes, that’s right folks. Not only my first Personal Dating Agent date but also, my first date in six months! Watch this space…

11 Responses to “Personal Dating Agent: An Update”

  1. The Hopeful Romantic March 5, 2012 at 10:27 PM #

    Awwww good luck !!

  2. Natalie March 5, 2012 at 11:09 PM #

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Enjoy! xxx

  3. Dazediva March 6, 2012 at 4:01 AM #

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy !!
    Enjoy !! can’t wait to hear about it !

  4. my honest answer March 6, 2012 at 11:41 AM #

    Ooooh, so excited to hear how it goes!

  5. CHER! March 6, 2012 at 9:47 PM #

    The important thing is to stay in the game and don’t give up! It is indeed frustrating to put forth effort and not have much to show…I believe this page is helping many women like yourself!

  6. Wendi B March 8, 2012 at 4:12 PM #

    Update on the date now now now!!!! Please 🙂

Leave a comment