There’s More To Me Than Meets The Eye…

3 Feb

Believe it or not, there’s a whole lot more to me than what you see on here on the blog, on Twitter or on Facebook.

Over the past year or so, I’ve come across people on Twitter who seem to think that this is all I do. They seem to think that I spend 24 hours a day thinking/complaining/whining about being single and fantasising about how to meet Mr Right. But hey, guess what? I really don’t.

Trying to find love is just one of many things I juggle...

Just because you see me tweet or blog about these things, please don’t get it twisted and think that in my everyday life I have a ‘woe-is-me’ attitude and can’t focus on anything else other than the fact I am single.

I’ve had strangers on Twitter tell me that the reason I am single is because I write about it all of the time and that maybe if I don’t want to be single, I should shift my focus. Well, I should point out to those people that I have been blogging (on and off) for under two years now whereas I’ve been single for a whoooole lot longer that that… so err, NO.

Blaming the fact that I’m single on the fact I blog about dating is ridiculous. My love life was disastrous way before I started writing about it, which is kind of how this whole thing started in the first place. Writing about this part of my life is a fun hobby. I repeat, it is FUN and it is a HOBBY but, I do have a life. I have a real life that consists of friends, family, a job, a lovely home, trips to bars/restaurants/cinemas, trips abroad – you name it, I do it. I’m adventurous and outgoing and contrary to what some people may think, I’m not sat at home day in and day out, rocking back and forth in the corner desperately trawling dating websites.

To prove my point, some would be surprised to know that the majority of people in my life don’t even know I write a dating blog and that many of my co-workers don’t even know that I’m single! As well as tweeting as The Single Filez blogger,  I also have a personal Twitter that’s been around for a lot longer. On that Twitter I tweet about everyday topics – music, film, TV shows, travel, my profession etc whereas The Single Filez Twitter is a side outlet for all things ‘singledom-related’. YES it is part of me but NO it’s not all of me.

So yeah, I just wanted to get that out there for those readers/Twitter followers who picture me as some saddo with nothing else to do other than sit at home concocting new ways to meet/approach men. Don’t get me wrong, yes I do sometimes think about finding new ways to meet/approach men BUT not all of the time – life is way too short for that!

P.S. – Speaking of new ways to meet men; apart from being approached by a 46 year old man (my search preference is 30-40 yrs), DoingSomething really isn’t ‘doing anything’ for me at the mo. However, please do watch this space because some exciting plans are definitely afoot!

8 Responses to “There’s More To Me Than Meets The Eye…”

  1. girlinaspin February 3, 2012 at 12:55 PM #

    Ah yes… I think all dating bloggers can all relate to this one

  2. Katie February 3, 2012 at 1:01 PM #

    Hey! Thanks for sharing this with your readers. I don’t think your lame or don’t have a life.
    I quite enjoy reading your blog and interacting with you on Twitter. In a non geeky way it’s life you have 2 different lives and I think that’s quite cool!! I’ve never really caught onto blogging but I’m trying it more. Keep up the great work.

    • TheSingleFilez February 7, 2012 at 8:39 PM #

      Hey Katie,

      Yep, that’s definitely a cool way to look at it – I have two different lives!

  3. Roxanne February 3, 2012 at 1:06 PM #

    Nice post, very clear. But it’s too bad that folks felt and expressed the things that prompted it. It left me scatching my head, I wouldn’t have ever thought that you had no life. Even bloggers who make a living writing about one topic have a life outside of that topic. I think there are many inaccurate assumptions about single women. Whatever.

    • TheSingleFilez February 7, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

      SO many inaccurate assumptions! It annoys me when people (who may or may not have read my blog posts) turn around and say to me “Oh, you’re single because…”

      You can’t get a full picture of someone and their whole life just from some words on a screen.

  4. singlegirlie February 4, 2012 at 5:02 AM #

    Agree with girlinaspin. I’ve been there, too, girl! It also drives me nuts when people on Twitter or who follow my blog think they know me and better yet, what’s wrong with me (i.e., you’re single because…). Acquaintances through social media don’t know dick. It both annoys and amuses me that they think they do.

Leave a comment