Is A Personalised Dating Service The Way To Go?

7 Feb

You know me;  I want to date but I hate having to rely on online dating. On top of that I never meet guys when I’m out and about, therefore I’m always trying to think of alternative ways to get myself out there. Other than speed dating and singles parties, something I’ve always liked the idea of is a personal matchmaking/ dating service. How cool to have a professional look at your likes/dislikes, values and interests and give you options on who they think would be a good match for you. I’ve considered it (e.g. Paul C. Brunson and Matt Hussey) but because it’s always so darn expensive, I’ve never actually tried it out.

The mission: Click here to find love...

However, not too long ago I was approached by a new dating service called Personal Dating Agent. It must have been written in the stars because funnily enough, a lovely reader of mine (Hi Suzette!) had highlighted the company to me on Facebook just a week beforehand. It turns out that Personal Dating Agent (PDA) is a new dating service that manages all aspects of online dating on your behalf. The interesting thing is,  they guarantee you dates every month. Obviously I was curious. It’s a chance for me to finally get to try out a dating service and see to if it actually works…

The Process

Step One – My Personal Dating Agent
The first step involved me being matched with my very own dating agent. Her name is Natasha and we got along so well during our initial phone call that we ended up having a good ol’ natter about the things WE had in common. The phonecall was purely so that Natasha could get to know me, what I like/don’t like and basically what I am looking for in an ideal partner.

Step Two – My Dating Profiles
Having gathered information about me from our phonecall, Natasha then decides which dating sites she thinks will be most suitable for me. In this case, Natasha thinks my best shots will be Match and OKCupid. Natasha also set me up with a log in for the PDA ‘members hub’. This is my own area of the site where I can upload photos of myself, give Natasha additional information to work with and check on my matches and dates. Natasha then writes up dating profiles on my behalf and runs them past me before putting them live on the aforementioned websites.

*Sidenote: Natasha’s profiles for me are ALL kinds of awesome! So much so I had to ask if she had recorded our phone conversation?! She had gotten me and what I was looking for down to an absolute TEE and managed to put it into words both beautifully and humourously.

Step Three – My Matches
Natasha then forwarded me a PDF doc listing 15 guys from Match and OKCupid that she thought ticked the boxes. Once again, I was impressed. They didn’t all catch my eye aesthically BUT they all had something about their profiles that matched what I said I was looking for. I picked five out of the 15 that excited me (that’s ok right, not TOO fussy?) and told Natasha to go ahead and message them.

Step Four – First messages
Next Natasha sent me drafts of first messages she will use to approach the five guys I had picked. All of the messages were chatty, conversational and referred to different things from the guys profiles. A couple of the messages were a little bolder and flirtier than I would normally be but hey, let’s go with it. No doubt it’s a good thing for me to be a little braver.

So, here’s the question; will I get any responses? Will any of them even be interested in talking, let alone meeting up? Who knows? Now we wait to see what happens next…

8 Responses to “Is A Personalised Dating Service The Way To Go?”

  1. Trace February 7, 2012 at 2:51 PM #

    I’m very excited about this as you know! Am waiting with a very positive baited breath! x

  2. Ellen February 7, 2012 at 3:02 PM #

    Hey, I stumbled on your blog recently and have loved reading your posts, but this development raises alarm bells for me. Having someone else write your messages? Would you be thrilled to find out that all your prior knowledge of a guy you were keen to meet was actually created by a ghostwriter? Just a thought. Hope it goes well though!

    • TheSingleFilez February 7, 2012 at 9:18 PM #

      Hey Ellen, thanks for reading!

      I totally hear ya. You’ve definitely made a very good point. The good thing is, what she’s written is everything I told her about myself but just put into her words. You know sometimes others can see the best in you or how best to sell you… better than you can? It’s like that. No lies involved, at all.

      Also, she runs the messages past me first so that I can tweak/amend if necessary.

      Like you, I hope it goes well and it’ll be interesting to see how it turns out.

  3. Miss Mutual Attraction February 8, 2012 at 5:13 PM #

    Hi really looking forward to hearing how you get on so keep us posted! there was an article in one of the papers about a similar service that seems to be taking off….leaves me wondering, what next in the world of dating?! Good luck! MMAxx

    • TheSingleFilez February 9, 2012 at 9:43 PM #

      Thank you! Will be sure to keep you in the loop 🙂

  4. Lou March 3, 2012 at 11:41 PM #

    I received an email about this service recently and was initially put off by the price, but am quite intrigued! I’ve tried most of the dating sites out there and I’m at the point where I can’t face another one, and having to sift through all the time-wasters and weirdos, so this does appeal for that reason! I’m curious to know how your experience goes, and will keep checking for updates! Good luck! 🙂

  5. Something She Dated April 29, 2012 at 11:15 PM #

    This sounds incredibly interesting. In fact, you already have my mind wondering…do they provide service for overseas clients lol…anyway one question I have is…do you think you’ll tell the guy…ever…that it wasn’t really you writing the messages or the profile? or keep it to yourself, the same way he doesn’t need to know which dates you were wearing spanx (or some other similar analogy)?

Leave a Reply

