Merry Christmas, Singletons!

25 Dec

If like me, you are spending yet another Christmas as a singleton, take solace in knowing that there are actually lots of positives to what many smug marrieds look upon as being some sort of seriously pitiful affliction. It’s fine smuggies, no need to feel sorry for us, we’re doing a-ok. In fact, feel free to take a look at what makes being single over the festive season a pretty damn good thing:

We don’t have the added stress of worrying what to buy for our ‘other half’

As if buying presents for family wasn’t already demanding enough, having to pour over what would be the ideal present for someone you’ve only been dating for a short while is extremely painful.  Cue the whole “but if I buy him this, he’ll think I’m being too serious”, “what’s the reasonable about to spend on a guy I’ve only been seeing for a little while” dilemma. Plus, the money we save  can be used to splurge on ourselves. We’re single and we’re allowed to be selfish, goddammit!

We don’t have to argue about whose family we’re going to spend Christmas day with

For those who have been with their significant other for a much longer time, each year brings about the question – whose family shall we spend Christmas day with? I’ve seen it happen within my own extended family and I’ve heard my friends go through it too. Personally, it’s not something I’ve ever had to deal with but I’ve heard on the grapevine that being forced to spend Christmas with the in-laws isn’t a very pleasant thing. Us singletons should consider ourselves lucky we don’t have to go out of our way to be extra nice to the mother, father, brother and sister of a spouse.

We don’t have as much slaving away in the kitchen to do

For those who are staying at home for the special day, remember that most smug married ladies are glued to the kitchen preparing Christmas day feasts.  Or, like me, Mum or Grandma pride themselves on taking care of the dinner duty. If we really wanted to, us singletons could spend the whole morning gorging on Baileys, cookies and ice cream in our PJs if we want to. Take it easy, indulge!

We can stay out as late as we like

Tis the season to be jolly! Tis also the season to get our party on. For those of us with no responsibilities – we can stay out as long as we like without answering to anyone and we don’t have to worry about babysitters either. It’s a great time to mingle and be sure to go out armed with mistletoe… ya never know, who you might meet at one of these Christmas parties, eh?

I know that for many, being single at Christmas can be particularly difficult, but I say just be sure to make sure you enjoy it. Being single allows us to be selfish. Being single allows us to do things the way that we want to. Enjoy that as much as possible and know that it won’t last forever. Some day you’ll experience the highs and lows of being loved up at Christmastime but, for now, take advantage of being able to enjoy the festive season with your friends and with your family in your own special way.

Wishing you all a very merry christmas and all the best for the new year!

Smooches,

The Single Filez

(Disclaimer: this post isn’t anti – those with other halves and children, it’s more about uplifting my fellow singletons. “Smug marrieds”, you do your thang! ;))

8 Responses to “Merry Christmas, Singletons!”

  1. MoneyMaus December 25, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    I was actually discussing the whole “where to spend Christmas” thing with my mom and aunt last night, we were saying how glad I am that I don’t have to deal with yet! Especially since our family does an international trip every other Christmas (last year Jamaica, next year Thailand!)… so being single causes zero problems with that! But I’d hope down the road that future boyfriend/husband would choose our fun trips over his family, lol…selfish much?! 😉 And you’re right on all points!!

    • TheSingleFilez December 25, 2011 at 7:08 PM #

      Or maybe, you and your future boyf/hubby could alternate your Christmases? One year with his family and the other year going on you family’s international getaway. He’d be a fool if he thought otherwise – your family trips sound a-may-zing!

  2. Zabrinah's Love Blog December 28, 2011 at 1:05 AM #

    Being single on any holiday is pretty difficult! I know Valentine’s Day is RIDICULOUSLY HORRENDOUS, but people often forget Christmastime, so I’m happy you mentioned it here.

    I’ve always been pretty good at getting presents for people. I think what worries a lot of us is having no one special to give those presents too. I do admit and agree with you that being single certainly allows us to be selfish. Delightfully so! We forget that when we’re feeling lonely, but it’s soooo true.

    Wishing you a joyous holiday season,

    ~Zabrinah

    • TheSingleFilez December 29, 2011 at 2:00 AM #

      I agree, the positives of being single are very often forgotten about when feeling lonely but hey, I also believe we should make the most of the up sides and enjoy them while we can. I’m sure in the future, when we’re all ‘loved-up’, that we will look back on certain aspects of our singledom very wistfully…

  3. Dazediva December 28, 2011 at 9:23 AM #

    Happy Holidays darling !!
    Single at Christmas … fun fun fun !!! For all the right reasons too 🙂
    I ended up spending the entire weekend partying with friends, until my feet hurt too much to dance .. and then Xmas day with all the family for dinner and got to watch my 1 year old nephew rip up (that’s right – RIP UP) my Santa hat !
    Maybe one of these coming Xmas’ I’ll have a pressie to give to a special someone – until then I’m quite happy playing Secret Santa hahaha
    Have a fabulous new year sexy lady !
    xxxx

    • TheSingleFilez December 29, 2011 at 2:03 AM #

      Love it! Sounds like you’ve had a great Christmas! Can’t beat a friend/family combo 😉

      You have a fabulous new year too sweets. All the best for 2012 x

  4. mercadeo en linea January 23, 2012 at 7:44 AM #

    I love this list. I am 25, single, and love it. I was in a relationship before followed by a brief fling. Now I don’t plan on meeting anyone. I love being single, maybe a little too much. Most of the time, I just don’t want people around, not even to come and visit. Single life is under rated. It is one heck of an experience and there is less worry. I spend time with my family when i want too. I plan trips and travel, it is soooo much fun.

    • TheSingleFilez January 23, 2012 at 9:03 PM #

      If this was Facebook, I would click “like” on this comment!

      I agree with you 100%. Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

