The Modern Day Matchmaker July Challenge!

1 Jul

I was on Twitter last week  (the question is, when aren’t I on Twitter?) and I saw a tweet from Paul Brunson aka The Modern Day Matchmaker, that caught my eye. Paul, a certified relationship and life coach with a huge Twitter following, had thrown out an interesting challenge to his followers:

Well hey, I defo want to increase the number of dates I go on, so tell me more…

Hmm,  sounds interesting. Slightly outside of my comfort zone, but still interesting. Y’know where my comfort zone lies? Online dating, that’s where. I’m too shy to approach guys on the street/in a bar,  so I wonder if online counts?

And there you have it. Online dating counts too. I think I’m going to like this!

Even more critical for shy/quiet/introvert types. Hopefully this will get me out of my current rut? Mind you, I once went on a dating bootcamp weekend which involved us going to a bar with ‘trainers’ and approaching guys using lines and techniques they had taught us during the day. I tanked, big time. I wonder if I’ll do any better with this?

So, during the month of July, I have to ask 10 men on dates. It can be via dating sites or in person and thankfully, not all of  the men have to say yes. The main point of the excercise is to get asking.

I figure, why not? What have I got to lose? I’m curious to see what happens. I’m curious to see if it makes a difference to my dating life. Most importantly, I’m curious to see if I actually have it in me to ask guys out!  I already have a couple of dashing male cheerleaders pushing me to make it happen – Thanks @TheSenorCGW and @9Tenets for the words of encouragement.

Anyone else want to do The Modern Day Matchmaker July Challenge with me and share their results? If so, let me know via Twitter (@TheSingleFilez) or via email (thesinglefilez@hotmail.com)

Otherwise, watch this space to see how it goes and feel free to follow Paul on Twitter at @PaulCBrunson.

8 Responses to “The Modern Day Matchmaker July Challenge!”

  1. trininista July 1, 2011 at 7:00 PM #

    Good luck! We want a running score too, missy! I need dissertation interviews at the moment so dates are on the back burner after this weekend! But I will be cheering you on!

    • TheSingleFilez July 1, 2011 at 11:59 PM #

      Thank you. Will most def be keeping a running score… I’m gonna need some sort of proof that I’ve done this. I’m even going to try to ask some of these out in person (rather than just rely on dating sites). Eeeek!

  2. Paul Carrick Brunson July 9, 2011 at 12:34 AM #

    I can’t wait to see your results…any questions you have, reach out to me!

    • TheSingleFilez July 10, 2011 at 12:01 PM #

      Thanks Paul. Failing miserably so far, but thanks anyway ;-p

  3. TurnJacson July 28, 2011 at 7:16 PM #

    Only a couple more days for the results… I’m excited!

    • TheSingleFilez July 30, 2011 at 12:47 PM #

      I have a confession to make… I failed miserably.

      What do ya know… it’s official, I suck at meeting guys.

  4. Something She Dated July 31, 2011 at 8:14 PM #

    Haha that’s so awesome!!! (and bizarre timing…about the same time as this I would’ve started my #OperationBalls as I call it lol where I start doing the asking)…it’s even crazier because I haven’t been posting about it!! Clearly. Great minds like ours think alike 😉 (can’t wait to catch up and find out how it panned out for you 😉

  5. Free Muslim Dating Site | Matt February 11, 2012 at 4:25 AM #

    Moving out of your comfort zone can be absolutely terrifying! I too really felt most comfortable chatting with women firstly/asking them out via online dating sites. I chatted with some very cool people I know – life coaches, relationship experts etc – and while they were happy to spruik the benefits of online dating, they were also quick to point out another important thing – diversity.

    I had grown comfortable doing all of my ‘approaching’ online so I did a similar challange of my own for a month – it wasn’t always about asking someone out – but when in a coffee shop or bar, supermarket or wherever, if I saw someone I thought was physically attractive and ‘my type,’ I’d have to talk to her.

    Sounds simple in writing, right? 😛

    It was a up and down month, the feeling you get when someone snubs you is terrible but the high you receive when the conversation cracks wide open is ten fold! So I suppose I’m throwing out my own little challange. Online dating is AMAZING but you should diversify more. If your ideal man is having difficulty picking which ice cream flavour to buy at the store, you wouldn’t just walk on by just because he doesn’t have an online profile…would you? 🙂

    Matt

Leave a Reply

