eHarmony 0 -1 Plenty of Fish

29 Jun

With only one month of my three month eHarmony subscription left, the race is now on to see if I can get a date (or at least have an exciting conversation) using what is supposed to be one of the world’s most succesful dating websites. While I wasn’t too keen on the idea of a paid-for website, I’d heard lots of good things about it from other people so was excited to give it a go. I mean, what sort of dating blogger would I be if I hadn’t even experienced the dating giant know as eHarmony? Unfortunately, I’m sad to say that after two months, it’s just not working for me.

Me, when checking my eHarmony 'matches'

I went through ‘guided communication‘ with a nice-enough guy the first week I joined. I found the guided communication process to be long and tedious and to top it off, there wasn’t even a conversation at the end of it! Since then, I regularly check the matches they select for me but to no avail. The past couple of months have pretty much consisted of me saying “really, they think that we’re a match?” – just because I like watching TV, keeping my home clean and orderly and reading newspapers, it does not mean that any man who does the same is a good romantic match for me. Also the past two months have had me doing a lot of internal screaming whenever I check my matches and discover yet another blank photo with the words “request my photo” across it.  I have a selection of pics up, why are they so special that they think people need to specially request to see theirs?  Grrrr! It’s also very annoying to send  a message to a suggested match when it turns out they haven’t logged on for three weeks and most likely no longer have a valid membership. Fail, fail, fail.

The thing is, paid-for dating sites get our money whether we get dates or not. Money woes aside, the annoying thing about my eHarmony disappointment is that after the bad experiences I’ve had this year (February’s Bug-A-Boo and April’s Stage 5 Clinger, anyone?) I am now feeling ready to date again. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the promise of summer? Or maybe I’m feeling refreshed after my New York trip? I dunno. Whatever it is, I’m longing to have someone special to think about. Someone who gives me a feeling of excitement when I receive a text message. You know the kind of feeling I’m taking about, right?

So with the above in mind I’ve gone and done it. The absolute nothingness of eHarmony has driven me straight back into the arms of free website Plenty of Fish. It’s only been three short months since I said “Goodbye to POF” but lo and behold, I’m back on there again! Even though I’ve started to get lots of the usual indecipherable messages from the POF freaks, I’m also having conversations with guys who seem pretty decent. Two months on eHarmony equals no conversation, six days on POF and not only am I speaking to guys but… I’ve landed a date too. Yes my lovelies, you’ve read correctly. I’m going on a date. TONIGHT! Woooo hooo!

Now, who was it who said that you get what you pay for….?

13 Responses to “eHarmony 0 -1 Plenty of Fish”

  1. Skye Blue June 29, 2011 at 12:19 PM #

    Ahhh…eHarmony. Though I know of three married couples who met through that site when I tried it I had a very similar experience to yours. As for Plenty of Fish, as you suggest, although you have to kiss a lot of frogs, unless there’s a tree branch growing out of your face, you’re pretty much guaranteed to get a date with someone…especially if your only requirement is that they have a pulse.

    Either way, good luck with your pending date and the (hopefully) many dates to come in the not too distant(?) future.

    • TheSingleFilez June 29, 2011 at 4:01 PM #

      Yes indeed – “Plenty of Frogs” or sometimes I call it “Plenty of Freaks”. I am one of the few who has a higher requirement than just having a pulse, so annoyingly, my time on there is similar to searching for a needle in a haystack.

      Thanks, here’s hoping tonight’s date is promising. Or at least, normal!

  2. Sparky June 29, 2011 at 12:25 PM #

    Brilliant! I’m toying with going back on dating sites (been taking a well needed break from it all after being on Match), so I’ll stay away from eHarmony, I might try POF, hey its free might as well. I also heard good things about My Single Friend. Good luck with your date tonight!

    • TheSingleFilez June 29, 2011 at 3:36 PM #

      A break is always good! Personally I wouldn’t recommend eHarmony, but hey it might work better for you? My Single Friend didn’t produce any results for me either, but then I have friends who have had heaps of dates using it.

      I’d say try them all and see which one personally works for you. Good luck 😉

      • Sparky June 29, 2011 at 4:43 PM #

        will do, thanks!

  3. lisaven June 29, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

    how exciting! my friend had no luck with e harmony it really got her down but another friend met her boyfriend on POF and they have loads in common! x good luck tonight have fun x

    • TheSingleFilez June 29, 2011 at 3:33 PM #

      Oooh, that’s a nice POF story! See, even through all the craziness, it’s nice to hear that a normal relationship can arise from Plenty of Fish.

  4. Sel_in_BDSS June 29, 2011 at 4:35 PM #

    Hope the date goes well tonight! have fun!

  5. trininista June 29, 2011 at 10:54 PM #

    I like the “Plenty of Frogs” definition. But my darling, have a blast tonight. Fingers and toes crossed! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  6. Marvi Marti June 29, 2011 at 11:42 PM #

    I am letting my eHarmony run out, my experiences have been so similar. I have had far better results on Match and Zoosk. POF was too much weeding through the weirdos for me.

  7. MissTT June 29, 2011 at 11:59 PM #

    Good to hear you’re back in the dating saddle SF. Hopefully a break from the sites and a good ol’ holiday was all you needed. I hope the date tonight was more than fun but if he’s not potentially the one, hang on in there.

  8. Cinnamon June 30, 2011 at 12:26 AM #

    I met some “interesting” guys on POF. I began to wonder why they were all usually on there throughout the day….then I found out. 99% of them were not employed.

    I was an E-harmony reject. They said they couldn’t help me. That’s a true story. And I was also on Biker or Not…a bikers dating site. Met my husband there.

    I’ve also wondered why, on the Match.com commercials that they put: The most dates, the most relationships and the most marriages. I wonder if they have also had the most divorces too.

Leave a Reply

