Things I Learnt From My NYC Trip

21 Jun

It’s no secret that I’m a huge big New-York-ophile. (What? If you can be an ‘Anglo-phile’ then surely you can be a ‘New-York-ophile too, right?)  I’ve previously blogged about the many ways I Heart New York and here I am writing about The Big Apple yet again except this time I’m taking a look back at the things I learnt on my most recent trip.

Taken from The Top of The Rock

Location is everything
I’d always done the typical tourist thing – staying in hotels slap bang in the middle of everything. The buzz you get from looking out of your room window and seeing the Empire State Building is unreal, trust me. Anyhoo, this time around I decided I want to live the life of a ‘real New Yorker’ so I rented a gorgeous studio apartment instead. Except… the apartment was in East Harlem. I mean no offence to anyone who may live in East Harlem, but let’s just say… you don’t have much eye-candy going on do ya? If  tattoos on necks and trousers so low you see butts & boxers do it for you then yeah, sure. But for me, who likes a man to look a little cleaner and smarter, hmmm not so much. Guess who will be staying back downtown on her next trip to NYC?

I’m ballsy, but I’m not that ballsy

Brooklyn Bridge at night - beautiful!

As mentioned in my last post, although I’m not ballsy enough to make eyes at a cute  guy I see out, I am ballsy enough to up-sticks and travel across the Atlantic ocean for 10 nights in a foreign country all on my lonesome. However despite plenty of people telling me I do should it and despite a part of me actually wanting to do it – I totally chickened out of going to a New York bar on my own. Going to breakfast, lunch or dinner solo I can do no problem. Walking into a packed bar at night-time to drink a cocktail or glass of wine? Urgh. For some reason the idea fills me with dread. So yep, I’m a big fat non-balls-having wuss.

Being single in New York, rocks!
Being single in New York seems waaahay more exciting. I met up with lots of awesome NYC bloggers/tweeters while I was out there and they made me realise they all have so much more going on that I do.  They actually date. More than one person in some cases. They take guys home from bars, they kick guys out of bed, they have exciting text conversations with guys they meet at the beach, they go to ‘bring a single friend of the opposite sex’ parties, they date guys they meet at work. Me, I have nothing going on. Nada. Zilch.  I get the distinct feeling I’d have a better time being single out there than I do here in London, *sigh*.

I'll be back there again soon, don't worry.

I need to make the move, and soon
I’ve played with the idea for a long time now but this trip convinced me that I need to experience living in New York. Whether it’s for 6 months or for 6 years, this is something I need to make happen. I don’t want to get to 80 years old and look back on my life with sad regret. I mean jeez, who else would get emotional while hearing Jay-Z & Alicia Key’s ‘Empire State of Mind’ on her last night in New York, other than someone who is meant to live there? (Disclaimer: there is a huge chance the emotion was brought on by the many margaritas on the rocks I consumed, but hey…)

So, this is the deal – I need a job, a sponsor,  a work permit/visa or  even just a New Yorker willing to marry me. Any offers?

22 Responses to “Things I Learnt From My NYC Trip”

  1. Natalie June 21, 2011 at 6:01 PM #

    Yay, you’re back! Sounds like you had a blast! NY rocks although I’m not keen on it when it’s thick in snow. I’ll be there next week and we’re also staying in Harlem for the first time. I shall look out for the burly men. I have several single friends and readers living in NY – I hear mixed stories but I think that’s par for the course. There does seem to be a lot more hot guys around although that could be the holiday feeling!

    • TheSingleFilez June 23, 2011 at 12:54 PM #

      Now that you mention it, all of my NY trips have been between April – August. I’ve never been brave enough to visit in the winter!

      Oh Harlem is absolutely fine. I love the vibe there, I just wasn’t impressed with the eye-candy is all 😉

  2. Skinny Dip June 21, 2011 at 7:47 PM #

    I’ve always wanted to experience living in New York, even if just for a summer!

    I’ve never actually gone to a bar by myself…more just because I worry that someone would slip something in my drink or something along those lines. Did I mention I’m paranoid?!!

    • TheSingleFilez June 23, 2011 at 12:57 PM #

      The funny thing is, I’ve done it (gone into a bar by myself) numerous times while in Barbados. However, I think the warm and friendly island vibe is far less intimidating.

      I do love the idea of me sitting at some NYC bar, sipping on a cocktail being approached by a handsome New Yorker – guilty of watching too many TV show/movies? Moi?

  3. Wendi B June 21, 2011 at 8:22 PM #

    I have been researching and trying to find ways to go and live in NYC since 2004 – for me it’s hard! I want to do things in a legit way, but money has been the issue… If you find any leads, PLEASE let me know and vice-versa!

  4. Mary June 22, 2011 at 11:28 AM #

    You’re not the only one who gets emotional listening to Empire State of Mind! I downloaded it specially for my last trip so I could pound the pavements of Manhatten listening to it and thinking I was in a film… 🙂

    Mx

    • TheSingleFilez June 23, 2011 at 1:37 AM #

      It’s such a great song, isn’t it? A real modern day classic.
      Love it!

  5. moneymaus June 22, 2011 at 1:45 PM #

    Love the pics!! 😀 And I still get emotional too whenever I hear Empire State of Mind even tho I live here now. It just epitomizes this amazing city so well!

    I cannot wait until you make NYC happen for you! Good luck!!!

    • TheSingleFilez June 22, 2011 at 6:54 PM #

      …and you were there with me when I took two of the pics. Over a week ago now…. *sigh*

      I hope to make NYC a reality some day soon, of course I’ll let you know the minute it happens!

  6. Bob June 22, 2011 at 7:07 PM #

    Great post, I was in NYC last year for my first time and loved it.

    • TheSingleFilez June 23, 2011 at 1:56 AM #

      Thanks Bob. Yup, it’s definitely a great city. I’m more than a little addicted 🙂

  7. myhonestanswer June 23, 2011 at 3:41 PM #

    You should definitely do it!

    Better to try and fail that never try at all, right?

    • TheSingleFilez June 24, 2011 at 1:14 AM #

      You’re so right! I just need to figure where to start. I am going to try though, we only get one shot at this thing call life after all.

  8. Jewels June 24, 2011 at 2:14 AM #

    Woohoo! NYC is the sexiest and most fun place to be single. Glad you had fun.

    • TheSingleFilez June 25, 2011 at 1:54 AM #

      Thanks Jewels. I had a ball! Fell in love in NYC all over again.

  9. Jackie Summers June 24, 2011 at 2:33 AM #

    When you get here, you’ve got family watching your back.

    oxo
    JFB

    • TheSingleFilez June 25, 2011 at 1:55 AM #

      Thanks Jack! I’mma try my best to make it happen, for real.

  10. Dazediva June 26, 2011 at 6:59 PM #

    New York is a lot of fun … I just find London to be a whole lot more fun =P haha all the things you’ve said that your NY mates have done; you can do anywhere in the world (even here in my parts of India but I doubt I’d be doing any of that with the judgmental folks around me!)… remember the grass is always greener on the other side (which makes everything so tempting !!! hehehe)

    Lemme know what work you are looking for and will ask around with my cousins and friends who are based in NYC 🙂

    Can’t wait to know more about your trip !!

    • TheSingleFilez June 27, 2011 at 10:34 AM #

      I prefer New York over London, but like you said it’s probs just a case of ‘the grass is always greener’ 😉

      Yes, its true that the things the NY’ers do can be doing anywhere in the world… but I guess I was talking with regards to how different their single lives are in comparison with my single life. Being in my mid-30’s, most of my friends have boyfriends, kids, babies, husbands etc. I’m not around people who do such fun, crazy things. I’m quite alone in my singledom and it seems that NY has more of a ‘singles scene’.

      I’ll DM you on Twitter with info on what I’m looking for. Thanks for commenting hun!

  11. Raven January 28, 2012 at 7:36 AM #

    Hey 🙂 I realize this post is a little outdated but I just wanted to comment.
    I have no idea how I found your bog but I am obsessed with it. Lol
    I am a New Yorker and I have to say that being single is the same every where you go. It sucks being lonely in the cuddle season( well not really.) you don’t really even think about it unless you have a really important function going on.
    The guys are absolutely amazing and they are everywhere. I currently ‘hang out’ with a couple guys and it’s way more fun than seriously trying to find a date.
    The city with your girlfriends is the best. Plus there is a chance of running into a celeb. 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez February 2, 2012 at 1:15 PM #

      Hi Raven. Thanks for reading!

      It’s strange but I definitely find guys in New York to be more chattier and more willing to approach and make conversation compared to the men here in London.

      Mind you, that’s the the reason I’m in love with the big apple – there’s so much more to it than that 🙂

Leave a Reply

