Becoming A Hopeful Romantic

10 Apr

After yesterday’s post from Simone of Skinny Dip in Toronto, today it’s time for me to head back home to London and bring my international guest blogger tour to a close with a post from The Hopeful Romantic. The lovely lady behind The Hopeful Romantic is yet another blogger who I’ve become friends with thanks to Twitter. I mean, hey, we’re two Londoners (I’m not a true Londoner, but ya get what I mean) in amongst a very ‘North American heavy’ dating blogger community – it’s only right we bond by occasionally getting together for cocktails/dinner/partying every once in a while, right? 😉

Becoming A Hopeful Romantic

I was heartbroken.

After weeks of alternating between crying, exercising obsessively or lying in my bed staring at the ceiling I was desperate for some sort of change.  I needed to make some sort of sense of all of thoughts rushing around in my head so I started to write.  And write.  And write – about how I was feeling, about the dreams that I had had…about all of the things that I had meant to say to him that I had never got to and probably now never would.

My Blackberry became my constant companion and as such I would – at a moment – grab it and type down my thoughts …I wrote very little some days. Some days a lot. Some days not at all.   The writing didn’t minimise the tears or the sense of loss…but it was cathartic.

Then the suggestion to do something with all the things that I had been writing came from an unexpected source  – maybe I could help someone… it seemed like a good idea but how?  I couldn’t think how I would move forward with getting some of my musings out there so initially I did nothing.

Time went on and I gradually continued the process of coming back to myself and so ‘The Hopeful Romantic’ was born.

I made a decision fairly early on to remain anonymous as I wanted to blog about all aspects of relationships: with friends, with family and with significant others and I wanted to respect people’s privacy. Some of the things that I have written and will write will never be published. Some of the things I have written about have already left me fairly exposed but that is where I have gained comfort from anonymity. In the time that I’ve been blogging I’ve written about:

  • The Early Days and  the aftermath of the end of a significant Relationship
  • Domestic Violence
  • Dealing with the death of a loved one
  • Some of the fairytales we see around dating
  • The ridiculous rebound situations people get themselves into
  • Learning to truly love oneself

The validation that has come from people… the “I’ve been here too and here’s how I got through it” has been amazing.  But the BEST thing about blogging has been that I have been able to form and establish some great relationships with people that I probably never would have met. I feel through this that I have come across people who have shared similar experiences, who have shared worse experiences in love and in life and yet they have kept hope alive.  So my blog about relationships has lead to new relationships forming… I really feel like I’m a winner.

“May the love hidden deep inside your heart find the love waiting in your dreams. May the laughter that you find in your tomorrow wipe away the pain you find in your yesterdays.” – Anon

So I’ll sign off as I always do:

Keep Going!

#THR

____________________________________________________________

Read The Hopeful Romantic’s blog http://www.thehopefulromantic.co.uk and follow her on Twitter: @TheHopefulRom

2 Responses to “Becoming A Hopeful Romantic”

  1. Dazediva April 11, 2011 at 5:23 PM #

    I totally get where you are coming from on this.

    Whilst blogging can be quite therapeutic; it’s also a brilliant way to build relationships with people that you didn’t even know were out there AND who are on the same wave length as you.

    Great insight 🙂

Leave a Reply

