Oh, What A Year!

4 Apr

Tomorrow, The Single Filez is one year old. I actually started blogging as The Single Filez back in July 2009 but after a few not-very-good posts, everything fell to the wayside. As far as I’m concerned, The Single Filez didn’t truly kick off until the 5th April 2010 when I first signed up to Twitter and announced to the blogosphere “I’m Back!“. I remember not knowing if anyone was reading my words. Now, I look at those posts and I see zilch comments, so I’m gonna go right ahead and guess that actually no-one was reading.

Fast forward to a year later and there has been 97 blog posts, close to 27,000 blog views, over 950 Twitter followers and a numerous number of dates with a numerous number of men. Although, I don’t really care about the statistics. Statistics, schmatistcs. What I do care about are the things that I’ve done, the things that I’ve learnt and the people that I’ve met over the past 12 months.

During the past year –

And last but definitely not least, I made new friends (here and abroad) and got to meet these Twitter peeps in the flesh – @WendiWrites, @TheHopefulRom, @TraceCoops, @by_simone, @skyemetafrog, @SingleGalNYC and @ChampyChampy – are all lovely folks I’ve had the pleasure of hanging out with over the past year. People who, without blogging, I never otherwise would’ve gotten to meet.

Not much may have changed or improved in my dating life over the past year but boy has blogging made being single more fun and made me feel less lonely. My absolute favourite thing about this whole experience has been discovering many dating/relationship blogs from all over the world. To celebrate the one year anniversary of The Single Filez  I’d thought I’d do something special. Over the next week I will be publishing guest posts from a few of the bloggers I’ve discovered over the past year. Think of it as ‘a week of international guest posts’, if you like.

Thanks so much for reading and here’s to another year. Cheers!

12 Responses to “Oh, What A Year!”

  1. Skye Blue April 4, 2011 at 1:07 PM #

    Happy Anniversary Girl! And here’s to many more.

    • TheSingleFilez April 4, 2011 at 10:50 PM #

      You had a part in helping this year be what it was, it was lovely to meet you and thanks for the guest post opportunities too!

  2. The Hopeful Romantic April 4, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

    Yep! Here’s to The Single Filez going strong and moving forward! More blog posts and even better results 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez April 4, 2011 at 10:51 PM #

      Thanks hun. Here’s to better results! Clink, clink!

  3. Wendi B April 4, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

    Happy Birthday!!! Here’s hoping that by this time next year you’ll have had to change the name of the blog to “The Loved-Up Filez” (or some such, lol)!

    • TheSingleFilez April 4, 2011 at 10:51 PM #

      Thank you! I love that ‘The Loved-Up Filez’. One can only hope eh?

  4. Floridity April 4, 2011 at 10:45 PM #

    Wow that really is awesome… Just imagine all these things you would have missed out on if you were in a relationship! Looking forward to what the next year brings for you…possibly now that youve lived it up in single life, love will soon come!

    • TheSingleFilez April 4, 2011 at 10:53 PM #

      Thank you so much! “Just imagine all these things you would have missed out on if you were in a relationship” <– I love that spin on it.

      Thanks for reading.

  5. Dazediva April 5, 2011 at 10:17 AM #

    Happy Blogversary !!
    You should be proud of what you’ve achieved so far ! it’s great !!
    Can’t wait to see what this year has stored for you – adventures 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez April 5, 2011 at 4:41 PM #

      Thanks hun! Let’s hope that what this year has in store for me is a boyfriend 😉

  6. Jackie Summers April 5, 2011 at 12:59 PM #

    Happy anniversary! Looking forward to many more posts!

    JFB

Leave a Reply

