Deuces! Time To Say Goodbye To POF

26 Mar

Apologies for not being consistent with my blog posting. I know its not great but admittedly, I do this from time to time. I mostly do this when bored of ‘dating’ which, I guess doesn’t bode too well for someone who is a ‘dating blogger’. Sometimes I go quiet when my ‘real life’ is busy and I don’t have time to write.  Mostly I disappear when I’d had enough of trawling dating websites every day. Scratch that. It”s usually Plenty of Fish that’s to blame. That website drives me absolutely doolally but yet in some weird self-harming way, I’m totally addicted to it. It’s kinda sorta entertaining. It’s kinda sorta educational (in a ‘that’s-exactly-what-I-DON’T-want’ kind of way) but most of all, Plenty of Fish never fails to generate great blog content. I wouldn’t have been inspired to write past blog gems such as ‘I Am Not Interested‘ and ‘Messages on POF – So Bad They’re Good if it weren’t for PlentyofFish.com’.

Chucking Up The Deuces (Credit: The Tez)

I’ve been on Plenty of Fish for nearly a year now. Apart from sending crappy messages, dates and blog inspiration my way, what has it actually done for me? Nothing! Yes it is free, but like a lot of things in life, you get what you pay for. I pay nothing, I get nothing. Therefore I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to wean myself off of the site. So from today onwards, there will be no more POF related-content. It’s time for me to move onto new things and hopefully the results will be different.

So on that note, ladies and gents, for the last time I present to you yet another POF gem:

i love ur file honest, u r just like me. we are one of a kind. lol.

u and me together will blow the house down if we put together. doing our love thing..

i also love ur pic too so cuite.

i wish u was on now n chat 2 me.lol

i no we would make each other laugh or cry..lol

have a great day boo.

xx

stay bless always.

xxxxxx

Hmmm, such a sweet talker. You really can’t beat being told that you and a random guy will blow the house down doing your love thing. Yeah bye Plenty of Fish. It was fun while it lasted. Deuces!

10 Responses to “Deuces! Time To Say Goodbye To POF”

  1. sparky March 28, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

    Match is as bad, either dodgy emails or guys my age only want to meet girls 10 years younger than me … oh the joys of internet dating, I will be staying away from POF though thanks to your experiences!

    • TheSingleFilez March 28, 2011 at 10:06 PM #

      Oh dear. Sounds like I should stay away from Match too, then!

  2. Skinny Dip March 28, 2011 at 6:49 PM #

    “i no we would make each other laugh or cry..lol”

    I think his spelling/grammar would definitely make me cry 😉

    • TheSingleFilez March 28, 2011 at 10:16 PM #

      It was the “u and me together will blow the house down if we put together. doing our love thing..” that really did it for me.

      *cringe*

  3. single mom dating March 30, 2011 at 7:29 PM #

    I recently decided to delete my account on POF. Like you, I got addicted to the site. I dunno if it was the attention I got from men I would never be remotely interested in or just seeing who has been an active user on the site for as long as I have. My last serious relationship did stem from POF so it can’t be all that bad but I’ve only met maybe 3 people from POF since 206. Ouch!

    You do get what you pay for but even paying isn’t a better option. I got totally frustrated with Match, eHarmony and Yahoo Personals as well. I just think I need to meet men in the real world and not the online world.

    Another reason why us ladies should be leary of POF is that I have seen on other forums (one specifically popular forum geared towards men) where men actually just like to mess with women on POF. Toying with their emotions to seem as though they are interested only and earn their trust so that the woman sends pictures of herself nude or semi-nude. Then the photos are posted on the public forum for all the other men to hoot and holler over. Yes, seriously this is happening. So POF ladies, have some pride and self-respect, don’t be sending sexy photos to men online; or period! You never know where they will end up if in the wrong hands.

    If you haven’t tried Speed Dating, well that is truly an experience to be had. I would rather attend speed dating events than have to deal with online dating again.

    • TheSingleFilez April 3, 2011 at 10:30 AM #

      I agree, even though its not necessarily a positive experience, POF is crazily addictive.

      I’ve done it in the past, but speed dating is definitely something I need to try again!

  4. singlegirlie April 1, 2011 at 8:37 PM #

    That is a good one! Why do people feel the need to write “lol” after every sentence – that are not even funny?

    I got so sick and frustrated from random messages from undesirables that I hid my profile. This hides you from search, but you can still message people and only they can view your profile. So now I do my own searches and message guys I like. This is against “The Rules,” but I don’t really buy into that crap, and it gives me more control and cuts down on my frustration. And if I want to take a break, I do. Often.

  5. MoneyMaus April 7, 2011 at 11:35 PM #

    I used POF once, about two years ago. I ended up meeting and dating a guy from it for 4 months…but he turned out to be psycho-crazy, major anger issues, etc so I got rid of him. (Though I only wish I’d seen the red flags from the beginning!) I’ve used other dating sites (Match & eHarmony) which also resulted in me finding guys…but sadly neither of them stuck around in those cases.

    Needless to say, I’d definitely go the Match/eH route again but NOT back to POF! Plus I’m in a whole new HUGE city so who knows who is out there for me 😉 Good luck to you as always and good choice on steering clear of the crazy fishies 😉

    • TheSingleFilez April 9, 2011 at 12:00 PM #

      I defo need to try Match and eharmony sometime in the near future. I always think that each site is worth at least one try, because you just never know who you might meet

      Yes, I’m excited to hear about what exciting opportunities your move to the Big Apple brings your way.

      Thanks for reading & commenting hun!

  6. Fiona February 29, 2012 at 9:31 PM #

    lol… POF sucks… Unless you’re looking to kill some time.

Leave a Reply

