That’s What I Need

13 Mar

I love music from the 90’s. This was the era that gave us music from the likes of Jodeci, Intro, H-Town, Mary J Blige, R. Kelly, Tevin Campbell, Hi-Five, Mariah Carey, Xscape,  Kris Kross, Naughty By Nature, Heavy D, TLC, Jade and SWV. I didn’t appreciate it at the time, but now when I look back on this time of my life I realise how amazing it was . In the 90’s I finished secondary school and went to college, I started hanging out with my friends (a lot), I started to become popular with boys (woo-hoo!) and I no longer needed parental company to go to concerts (thus began the “Jodeci groupie phase” of my life. I confess to being such a groupie, that I actually did the show, the after-party AND the hotel).

Anyhoo, the other day I pulled out one my favourite 90’s albums ‘It’s About Time’ by SWV. I bought it on tape cassette in 1993 when I was only 16 years old and at the time, it was my whole world. I played it a million times, I copied their hairstyles and their clothes, I learnt their dance routines and saw them in concert. I loved those Sisters With Voices! Listening to the album today it hit me just how much  more meaningful the lyrics are now compared to back then. I listened to the words of  ‘That’s What I Need’ (track no. 12) and felt I could’ve been singing it myself. Not because my voice is anywhere as awesome as Coko’s, but because of the lyrics. Here, have a listen/read…

THAT’S WHAT I NEED by SWV

I need someone who I can share all my dreams with
That’s what I need
Someone special, who will love me just for me
That’s what I need
I need someone to hold me tight
To give good loving all night
So many times I’ve opened up my heart
Only to have someone tear it apart
That’s why I need…

[Chorus:]
Someone to treat me right, make love all through the night
That’s what I need
(Boy, I’ve been hurt before) I’ve been hurt before
Real love I’m looking for
That’s what I need
Real love…

[Verse 2:]
I need someone who will never leave me lonely
That’s what I need
Someone faithful, who’ll love me as their one and only
That’s what I need.
I need someone to share my ups and downs
And even through the bad times, will always be around
So many times I’ve opened up my heart,
Only to have someone tear it apart. I need…

[Chorus:]
Someone to treat me right (treat me right)
Make love all through the night (I need it)
That’s what I need
(I’ve been hurt before) I’ve been hurt before
(Real love) Real love I’m looking for
That’s what I need

So simple yet so meaningful. Even more so when you consider the lyrics of some of today’s songs… (Oooh na na, what’s my name? Ooooh na na what’s my name? *side-eye*). I didn’t really pay attention to the words of  ‘Thats What I Need’ when I was 16. Yes, I loved it and yes, I sang every word at the top of my lungs, but I didn’t really understand it. Today, at the age 34,  it’s a shame that I understand it all a little TOO well.

6 Responses to “That’s What I Need”

  1. LadyTT March 13, 2011 at 12:40 PM #

    Oh girl I feel ya on this blog post. Not only to reminisce on the good ol’ 90’s RnB sound but also cos I can always find a great song to relate to the lyrics of. Love, heartbreaks, friends, jamming in the club, whatever it be music will forever find you screaming your lungs off to every damn word.

    “Music is life”.

    Now where are all my old skool albums…?

    • TheSingleFilez March 13, 2011 at 2:15 PM #

      I know, right? Isn’t it amazing when you find a song that says exactly what you want to say, and exactly how you feel?

      Doesn’t happen so much these days but hey, you can’t beat the old skool classics 🙂

  2. Sam Sharpe March 16, 2011 at 1:24 PM #

    This post brought back a few memories for me and a few chuckles but nothing was funnier or scarier than this line:

    “I copied their hairstyles and their clothes”

    • TheSingleFilez March 16, 2011 at 11:44 PM #

      Sam, I was 16, what can I say?

      Today the kids want to look like Rihanna or Lady Gaga. In my day, it was SWV and TLC. (Jeez, I sound old!)

  3. Skinny Dip May 2, 2011 at 3:07 PM #

    Oh yes. I totally know what you mean. I loved all the same groups when I was in High School/early college years. The lyrics of the songs now seem to sincere, romantic & practical compared to the stuff these days of the “I want to F— you” auto-tune variety.

    • TheSingleFilez May 2, 2011 at 3:23 PM #

      When my 14 year old sister sings ‘Cause I may be bad, but I’m perfectly good at it. Sex in the air, I don’t care I love the smell of it. Sticks and stones may break my bones, but chains and whips excite me’, I literally want to throttle Rihanna!

Leave a Reply

