20 Awesome Things About Me

6 Mar

Credit: madewithawesome.blogspot.com

When you’ve been single for awhile (or forever, in my case) it’s extremely easy to have very low self-esteem. It’s easy to come to the conclusion that something is wrong with you. It almost makes sense for you to think you’re not good enough because everyone else around you – siblings, parents, cousins and friends – can find people who want to be in a relationship with them, but you never can. It doesn’t matter how many people say you have a stunning smile if  you’ve never been able to keep a guy interested in you for more than a few months at a time. So, yup, low self-esteem is inevitable.

Not too long ago I was on Twitter and I came across a few tweets that made me sit up and take notice. It felt as though The Dating Optimist‘s tweets were directly aimed at me:

“Do what you need to remind yourself why you’re awesome. If YOU think you’re worth dating, others will think so too.”

“The BIG advice: Write a list of 50 things awesome about you: What you know, what you can cook, jokes you tell well, how big your heart is…”

So I decided I should write a list to remind myself exactly why I’m awesome. Not a list of 50 things because that’s way too much and I can’t even think of 50 things. Also, wouldn’t 50 things would be an absolute snoozefest of a blog post? Anyhoo, with that in mind, here are 20 things that are awesome about me:

  1. My lips – full, juicy and all kinds of amazeballs when plastered with MAC lipglass
  2. My boobs – they’re full and juicy too*wink*
  3. My smile – this is the one that I get told over and over
  4. My laugh – infectious
  5. My warm and welcoming personality – what can I say? I’m a people person
  6. My sense of adventure – open to new experiences, I’ll try most things
  7. My ability to always try to look on the bright side – I did say, try
  8. I’m independent – I don’t let being alone stop me from doing anything
  9. My love of travel – I get itchy feet if I don’t have a flight booked
  10. My love of food– I maybe small, but boy do I love my food. Definitely not a fussy eater
  11. My ability to stay small even though I should be about three sizes bigger – see #10
  12. My fierce sense of loyalty – don’t mess with my close friends and family!
  13. I’m brave and courageous – more than I give myself credit for
  14. I’m great at keeping secrets – I’m a Scorpio, we’re secretive by nature
  15. My sense of humour – when I’m comfortable with someone, I can be a right silly cow. I love to laugh
  16. My sense of determination – once I have a goal set, I will always work my hardest to achieve it
  17. I can throw down in the kitchen – damn shame I’m the only one who gets to appreciate it
  18. My long term friendships – I’ve lived in London for a long time, but I’m proud to say my best friends are still the ones from my hometown
  19. My life achievements so far – I come from a single parent household, from a not too great area but now I’m in London, I own my own home, I have a great job and I take regular holidays. I do okay 😉
  20. My potential to be a great girlfriend – admittedly, I’ve not been able to prove this one yet, but I’m sure I’d be awesome!

Sometimes I forget that I actually have plenty of reasons to be proud of myself. We covered this in the Get The Guy Women’s Weekend too, sounds cheesy I know, but I need to truly realise my own value and know that I am a person worthy of being loved. Thanks to the friends who helped me out with this one, you know who you are! And thanks to Dating Optimist (follow her on Twitter, here) for the pearls of wisdom!

ASSIGNMENT OPTIMISM: Remember that you are worth the good stuff. Great things should, can and WILL happen to you.

8 Responses to “20 Awesome Things About Me”

  1. trininista March 6, 2011 at 7:37 PM #

    Good job on loving yourself 20 times over. I often need to remind myself that I am f…g great as well. I am! Great! You are too.

  2. nikki04 March 7, 2011 at 2:19 PM #

    I have one bone to pick here… and it’s not directed at you, Singlez, but at the dating world in general: Why do we focus on the good in us so we’re *datable*? That we look at why we’re awesome as the traits someone else should see, and thus we have them to gain a partner? What about being an awesome member of our communities? An awesome person so that we love ourselves? And not so someone else will.

    Yeah – I get most people want a relationship. Yeah, they’re nice. But… why do we need the litmus test to be our ability to find someone else?

    All that being said… great list regardless! Not for another person, but for YOU! 🙂

  3. Sparky March 8, 2011 at 1:56 PM #

    Good for you!!

    • TheSingleFilez March 8, 2011 at 8:38 PM #

      Thanks Sparky, now the key is try and memorise the list and recite it to myself everytime I don’t feel so great 😉

  4. John March 8, 2011 at 7:26 PM #

    Good evening….

    I have to say, I’m one of those folk who never doubts the impact of a positive mantra. It’s a bit like exercising regularly, and it does keep the spirits up! However, it’s probably one of those things you’re reminded to do when life is a bit of a strain, but there’s no harm in reminding yourself every now and then!

    Having said that, I don’t think anyone should measure their esteem by their relationship status. Although it can’t be denied that when you are surrounded by those who are either in a relationship, married, partnered with children, surrounded by all of those things that can suggest you’re not part of the norm at your age! I think that can lead you to think about the things that you don’t have in life rather than the things you do!

    And so what evolves is some positive self messages or a mantra, like your “20 things that are awesome” about you. I particularly like no.18; if you still have what roots you to where you came from, you’re rich in life in my book that does amount to love in its very real sense!

    And to add; I completely agree with Nikki04! I’ve done a wee bit of the tinterweb dating and scrolled through the pages of dynamic women (and I’m sure they are dynamic and wonderful), but I find some of what people say of themselves on their profiles to be more like a public declaration of how absolutely wonderful they are and actually it just sounds like they are perfectly happy as they are, but need that confirmed by some other!

    It may be my age, but I have a leaning toward those who sound honest and easy about themselves. Those who don’t need to be affirmed by someone else, but more appear to accept that they are wonderful and don’t need to shout about it, and all of their other characteristics are quite simply that… characteristics! (I’m probably making no sense whatsoever, but I know what I mean)

    I think the most meaningful line in your blog is “I need to truly realise my own value and know that I am a person worthy of being loved” but I can add; recognize yourself as “an awesome person” that has love within you and maybe all of the rest will follow quite naturally.

    By the way… happy international women’s day!

  5. Dazediva March 13, 2011 at 1:44 PM #

    Fab post !
    I’ve been having a very rough few days with a whole lot of crap thrown at me from every direction, and for the first time in years I’ve felt really down ! and your post was a fab pick-me-up !
    As I read your list – realized we’re quite similar 😛 I’d just replace food with dessert 🙂
    You’re awesome 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez March 13, 2011 at 2:09 PM #

      Thanks honey. You should write your own list too… and stick it on up on your fridge. Every time you get lots of crap thrown at you, every time you feel a bit down, you can have the list there as the ultimate pick-me-up.

      And you’re awesome too, lady!

Leave a Reply

