Dating Boot Camp Weekend: Day 2

23 Feb

'Get The Guy' DEFO gives you a lot to think about...

After a very jam-packed day one,  day two of the Get The Guy Women’s Weekend kicked off with the trainers giving us feedback on how we performed the night before. Did we breakthrough any barriers? How many men did we speak to? Yada, yada, yada. I’m ashamed to say that I let myself down and didn’t approach any men whatsoever. Don’t get me wrong, I did speak to lots of men but only after someone else (a trainer, one of the other ladies) broke the ice first.  Even thought there  weren’t any guys in the bar that I fancied, I still didn’t have the guts to walk up to one and strike up a conversation from scratch.

The feedback I received from the trainers confirmed what I already knew, that I’m absolutely fine when speaking to men. They noticed I had no problem keeping a conversation flowing. They said I came across as confident, fun and engaging. They also said it doesn’t make sense because elements of my job are way more scary than approaching a random guy. I’ve worked with celebrities. I’ve met people whose work I admire. I’ve had to walk up to the likes of Will Smith, Tyrese, Paul Walker and John Legend and introduce myself. I’ve had to tell them where they need to be or who they need to speak to. The trainers  (very rightly so) said that to some people, introducing themselves to a celeb would be way more nervewracking than approaching ‘some dude’. Work is what I have to do. The trainers pointed out that if I wanted to see results in my love life, making more of a effort is something I have to do.

Other things covered in day two included:

Phone and text etiquette
Not as useless as you may think. I actually learned a few nice little gems here. Ones I’m not going to share because I plan to use them in the future…. *wink*

Fake dates
A speed dating exercise in the hotel bar. The trainers gave us feedback on how we came across in a date situation. I’m chatty, smiley, fun and engaging but I failed on one thing, I  sat opposite my one of my dates when I should have sat next to him. Doh!

Where to ‘find the guy’
There are more opportunities to meet guys out there than we realise. This was a cool exercise that showed us that we’re limiting ourselves. We need to open our eyes and realise the ‘right guy’ can be anywhere and everywhere.

How to ‘keep the guy’
This is the part I always fall down on. I can attract the guys, date the guys but I can never keep the guys. This section took an interesting look at the major factors that can make a relationship fall to pieces before it even gets started. I’ll go into this one further in a future blog post methinks.

While I found that the Women’s Weekend is a great chance for any woman who wants more success in her love life to learn some tips, skills, techniques and some mindsets to take her love life forwards. I do  think that the real test comes AFTER the weekend, when we have to put in the hard work to make sure  the tips we’ve learnt doesn’t go to waste. Only time will tell, eh?

8 Responses to “Dating Boot Camp Weekend: Day 2”

  1. Man-shopper February 23, 2011 at 1:31 PM #

    How to keep a guy?! Now that’s something that I’d like to know more about…

  2. Harriet Bond February 25, 2011 at 11:45 AM #

    I do find the notion of ‘how to keep the guy’ a bit dubious. We should not need tips and trickery to ‘keep’ someone, and it also hints that women are lower in the pecking order and should feel privileged to keep a man (after all, there are loads of amazing women out there ‘keeping hold’ of rotten men…. are we supposed to congratulate them?!). Seems to be that the focus is all about what women need to do to ‘get’ a man…. have we not moved on from Jane Austen??!!

    • TheSingleFilez February 25, 2011 at 1:28 PM #

      Oh no, it wasn’t portrayed in a negative way at all. Because the ‘keep the guy’ section was a part of the weekend that really resonated with me, I plan to write about it in more detail in an upcoming post. Hopefully you’ll see then it was actually all good!

  3. Wendi B March 6, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

    Please do the ‘Keep the guy’ post very soon!

    • TheSingleFilez March 7, 2011 at 11:03 AM #

      Thanks for reminding me, I had completely forgotten!

  4. somethingshedated April 24, 2011 at 8:27 PM #

    Ooh…the How to keep a guy thing is going to be really interesting…can’t wait 😉 (here’s hoping its in the batch of written but unread by me so I don’t have to wait lol!)

  5. Toxica July 23, 2011 at 7:13 PM #

    Can you tell me why they recommend that you sit next to the guy rather than opposite him on a date?

Leave a Reply

