Dating Boot Camp Weekend: Day 1

18 Feb

Long time readers will remember that last summer I did Get The Guy’s Secrets of Attraction one day event and absolutely loved it. That day, I left knowing I would do the full Women’s Weekend as soon as I got the chance. That chance came last weekend.

I don’t want to give too much away, because I feel its the sort of thing you have to experience for yourself. I think its the sort of thing that effects you in your own personal way, depending on the reason you’re there. But, I’ll  share a few personal highlights with you…

I had a small group. Me and five other lovely ladies. Perfectly normal, attractive, intelligent, funny and friendly women. Women who, like myself, wanted to expand on the one day event and hear in more detail how to ‘find the guy, get the guy and keep the guy’. Day one kicked off with Matthew Hussey asking the room the same three questions:

  1. What would you like to learn on this weekend?
  2. What is holding you back?
  3. Where do you see yourself in 3 months time?

Within the first half hour, Matt had us all digging deep and sharing personal thoughts. But this was nothing. By the end of the weekend, we all knew more about eachothers personal lives than some people know after knowing someone for years!  However, it was ok because we didn’t really know eachother and anyway, we all had our own issues  and hang ups to worry about. Actually, it was quite nice, because we all empathised with eachothers experiences and situations. My answers to the questions above were that I’d like to come away from the weekend having learnt how to approach men, how to make eye contact with men and how to look more open to having (the right type of) men approach me. I said that a lack of confidence was holding me back and I said that in 3 months time, if the tarot cards are to be believed, I would like to have met someone with potential.

At one point, Matt asked us to look into the future. He asked us to write down how we would feel if we hadn’t taken any action to get the love lives that we want. How would we feel in 6 months time if nothing has changed? How would we feel after our next birthday? How would we feel in five years? The thought of all that time passing and nothing have changed scared the living beejesus out of me. There’s nothing like the feeling of regret. Matt’s point was we’re in the present right now. We can do something about this NOW. Rather than look back and wish we had done something about it. If there was one exercise during the weekend that resonated with me, this was it.

It wasn’t all deep and emotional. It was fun and thought-provoking too. Matthew (who was still as amazing and as inspirational to listen to as he was last summer) and his crew of trainers: Mike, Rafael and John taught us how to flirt, how to turn boring standard conversations into fun memorable banter and to understand the different levels of self-confidence.

Day one ended with us ladies, plus four trainers (Mike, Raf, John and Kelvin), heading into central London to test out our newly aqcuired skills on unsuspecting men at a popular Soho bar. It wasn’t my usual type of spot, but it was all about getting practice. The theory was that we practice on the guys we’re not attracted to, so that it isn’t so hard when talking to a guy we ARE attracted to. I talked to plenty of guys. But that’s not my problem. Once I’m ‘in there’, I can talk, laugh, have fun conversation with random dudes. That’s never been my problem. It’s the whole ‘approaching a guy’ thing that lets me down. A couple of the women in the group walked up to and initiated conversation with close to twenty men. Me, I literally had to have the trainers kicking my arse, physically pushing me to speak to guys. Bless ’em, they found ways to get the convo started for me (because I kept chickening out) but hey, I am still a work in progress. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

9 Responses to “Dating Boot Camp Weekend: Day 1”

  1. babycoops February 18, 2011 at 4:58 PM #

    This sounds amazing – we were discussing last night and we seriously need to attend one of these! He looks a little hottie aswell! 🙂 x

    • TheSingleFilez February 19, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

      For sure! You guys should at least attend the one day Secrets of Attraction event to get a little taster. I promise you wouldn’t regret it 😉

  2. trininista February 19, 2011 at 10:47 AM #

    Good for you for going to one of these things. Sounds pretty empowering. I would go just to stare at that Matthew all day. He is stunning.

    • TheSingleFilez February 19, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

      It was empowering. Very inspirational. And yes, the fact that Matthew is easy on the eyes definitely doesn’t hurt 😉

  3. Harriet Bond February 19, 2011 at 11:14 AM #

    Staying in the day is always good advice but so hard to do!!!

  4. Velvet January 8, 2012 at 11:13 PM #

    I must ask, did you find that you left the one day event with enough info or do they keep the real tips for the weekend event. I would like to take my friend there but I will be disappointed if I feel like I am being recruited for the weekend event.

    • TheSingleFilez January 9, 2012 at 9:48 PM #

      Hey Velvet. The one day event was interesting on its own but yes, of course, it does leave you wanting more.

      I’d still suggest trying out the one day event though. Whether or not you decide to do the weekend afterwards is totally up to you.

      Enjoy!

  5. FlirtyF February 26, 2012 at 3:06 PM #

    the quality got reduced, there were around 300 women on the weekend, we didn’t get any personal attention. experts didnt come along with any of us to the night out either…

    • TheSingleFilez February 27, 2012 at 2:49 PM #

      Oh dear. Doesn’t sound as though you had a good experience?

Leave a Reply

