Bug-A-Boo

8 Feb

As mentioned in my last post, I wimped out of writing about my date with the guy I met at Lovestruck London’s Laissez-Faire party. Mainly because it was a ‘blah’ date and I couldn’t quite figure out how to make it interesting or funny enough for a blog post. However, there have since been developments that make me think ‘Lovestruck Guy’ is now worthy of a write-up. It turns out dude is a raging bug-a-boo. He is driving me nuts. Here, let me explain…

 

Pretty much me, after dealings w/ Lovestruck Guy

Who Is He?
Lovestruck Guy is a 31 year old accountant who started talking to me and my friend at Laissez-Faire. He didn’t seem like my usual type right off the bat, but he seemed nice enough, so when he asked for my number and suggested we go out some time, I obliged.

I was looking forward to the date. I think because it’s been a long time since I’d met and exchanged numbers with a guy in a real life situation. It may a bit of a cop-out seeing as it was a party specifically for singles, but hey, I’m a woman who has been relying strictly on dating websites for the past few years, so every little bit counts.

The Date
We met for Sunday afternoon drinks. The conversation didn’t flow as easily as I would’ve liked. I put it down to our different interests/background. He’s an accountant who studied physics at university. Whereas I went to college, but not university. He’s a nerdy/academic/grey-trousers-on-a-Sunday wearing type of person (the trousers reminded me of the ones my 10 year old nephew wears as part of his school uniform AND he wore them with a hoodie. WTF?) whereas I’m a chilled out, jeans at (nearly) all times, celeb/pop culture/US TV dramas and movies type of person. I’d imagine he reads the Financial Times or City AM, while I’m more likely to read Glamour, Grazia or Pride. He told me he didn’t get into music until a late age, because he was a”diligent school pupil”. Which is wonderful, really great and all, but I was a child who got put in detention for bunking off school to go and hang out at the hotel where 80’s pop stars Kylie Minogue, Sonia and Big Fun were staying. We were seriously different.

This post isn’t about our differences though, it’s about the fact that within the week of our first date he became a straight-up certified bug-a-boo. Although the date wasn’t amazing, he was a nice enough for me to consider hanging out with again.  That was until his constant calling and texting changed my mind. Since our date last weekend, he’s asked me out numerous times despite me having already told him I had plans. He text and called every single day, which for the record, I would love if I was into him, but after one very mediocre date? Just no.

One morning he text me but I was in meetings all day long, so didn’t get to reply right away. What do you know, he called me before I got a chance to respond. In fact, I don’t think I ever had the chance to call him. He’d always pip me to the post and call or text first. More recently I started waking up to text messages.  It’s gotten to the point where I shoot my once beloved Blackberry a dirty look every time it rings or a text message alert comes through. To top it off, his text messages sound like somebody’s Dad trying to be ‘down with the kids’. After 6 days of texts and calls, this was Saturday morning’s text – “Greetings! How were last nights drinks? Hopefully you busted some more dance moves”

A few hours later, before I got around to responding – “Hey there! What have you got planned for tomorrow?”

It wasn’t the first time he seemed to have forgotten I already told him I had plans. My reply was “Not sure if you remember, but last week I told you I was having a friend over for the weekend? Yep, so I’ll be with her tomorrow.”

And then I realised, I needed to put an end to this. Usually I dread having to tell guys I’m not interested, but this one made it easy. I’d gone from feeling lukewarm to feeling freezing cold, and it was time to let him know. I sent another text – To be honest, I think we should leave it here. It feels like everyday I’ve had to explain what I’m doing and as mentioned to you last week Sunday I already had plans for this week, but yet you still keep asking what I’m doing. It’s too much for me! Good luck with your dating, take care”

I thought he’d gotten the message. I didn’t hear a thing from him for over 12 hours (hooray!). But then, yesterday evening, I got the following text – “Just taking it easy. By the way how was that concert you went to?”

Huh? What? Now he’s just getting scary.  Did he not see the text I sent the night before? And what did he mean by “Just taking it easy”? It’s not like I asked him what he was doing. Did he just chose to ignore what I said? I’ll tell you what, from here on in, I’m ignoring his bug-a-boo ass. NEEEEXT!

17 Responses to “Bug-A-Boo”

  1. Babycoops February 8, 2011 at 11:50 AM #

    Love this – Why is it always the ones that we don’t really like who are soooooo keen though?!
    Answers on a postcard xx

    • TheSingleFilez February 8, 2011 at 9:47 PM #

      It’s always the way isn’t it? Wish I knew why. Guaranteed if I was into this guy, he wouldn’t be half as interested. Hmmph.

  2. Trace February 8, 2011 at 12:12 PM #

    Another fab post! Its not mocking the afflicted nor is is inviting bad dating karma as lets be honest, grey trousers on a sunday pm date is almost unforgiveable…. moi…picky? ha ha!

    I’ll see you at the cats rehoming place picking up our moggies eh? x

    • TheSingleFilez February 8, 2011 at 10:04 PM #

      THANK YOU. I mean, if it was an after work meeting, maybe. But dude, it was a Sunday! Chill out a bit! Throw on some jeans for crying out loud. 😉

  3. John Boy February 9, 2011 at 12:02 AM #

    Heh heh. Guys talking like listening to music is an activity. As if maybe people would just sit there staring at the deck while the cassette plays. Not serious.

    Gotta give him props for the ‘just taking it easy’ move, though. Dude went for the bootstraps. That’s heart, if misguided.

  4. singlegirlie February 10, 2011 at 4:49 AM #

    I’m not sure that I’ve heard the term “bug-a-boo” in quite some time, but I rather like it and am glad that you’ve brought it back!

    Good for you for being straight up with Buggy. After that, you don’t owe him texts or calls back of any kind. After a while, he’ll get the hint.

    • TheSingleFilez February 10, 2011 at 8:14 PM #

      The word bug-a-boo isn’t used enough as far as I’m concerned!

      Buggy text me again this morning. Told me he was “in the mood for dancing” and then asked what I was up to tonight. Needless to say, I didn’t respond (again). What a weirdo.

  5. Harriet Bond February 11, 2011 at 1:59 PM #

    Yes I think the ignoring technique is the best; some men cannot take a hint!

  6. Charlotte February 12, 2011 at 7:14 PM #

    Oh, good god. NEXT is right! This guy sounds certifiably crazy. I’m sure he’s a nice guy and all but one who clearly can’t take a hint (or very obvious signs that you are not interested).

    I hope the texting stops for your sake soon!

  7. Red Stethoscope February 14, 2011 at 12:50 AM #

    Oh my goodness, I hope he doesn’t know where you live because you’re going to be waking up to him on your doorstep (literally). Your line, “To top it off, his text messages sound like somebody’s Dad trying to be ‘down with the kids'” made me laugh out loud. Maybe that’s how he ended up with the grey trousers and hoodie. Somebody probably told him that the hoodie was what all the hip and trendy youngsters were wearing these days. Lol.

  8. Myra February 16, 2011 at 5:53 PM #

    Loved this.

  9. Leigh February 17, 2011 at 4:02 AM #

    Haha – this cracks me up as I’ve totally been there. Honestly I don’t get it – are these guys just that clueless? Or bored? I was once dating a guy and he was all up in my grill after date 3 and so I told him I needed some space. His response was – “Totally. So call you later?” Really? Really.

    • TheSingleFilez February 18, 2011 at 7:21 AM #

      I haven’t communicated with him since Feb 5th when I told him that I think we should leave it, and good luck with his dating. Yet he still texts and calls me. Right up until yesterday, Feb 17th when I received a text saying, “Are you up to much tomorrow night buddy? Have fun”.

      Straight up, weirdo.

  10. Sincere May 5, 2011 at 5:25 PM #

    Erm.. something tells me that the texts you were receiving weren’t only sent to you (i.e. a mass text to multiple potential dates with the hope at least one replies positively). Firstly notice the lack of name usage. Secondly the fact he clearly knew you were busy/not interested yet still kept on texting. Sounds like a distribution list to me..

    PS.. stumbled on your blog today and loving your posts

    PPS.. I didn’t read all the way to feb.. just saw a link to this one in a more recent post. lol

    • TheSingleFilez May 5, 2011 at 9:11 PM #

      Glad you stumbled onto the blog. Thanks for reading and for commenting too.

      A text distribution list… that’s defo one way to look at it. Oooorrrrr maybe, he was just a weirdo? 😉

      • Sincere May 6, 2011 at 10:43 AM #

        Yeah.. regardless he was def a weirdo! lol

Leave a Reply

