I Heart New York

5 Jan

*Sings* In New Yaaaaawk, concrete jungle where dreams of...

I can’t deny it. I’m unashamedly in love in New York City. My fascination with that city is like nothing I’ve experienced before. Some might say it’s unhealthy, but I have nothing but a big fat *pokes tongue out* to say to those people. So what if I know all of the streets and their directions, so what if I sometimes sit at home ‘walking’ the streets of Manhattan on Google Street View. That’s absolutely normal behaviour, isn’t it? Ahem.

I’ve visited NYC four times in my life. The first time I was only 11 and I stayed with family in Queens. I was 22  when I stayed with a friend’s family in Long Island and Brooklyn, but it wasn’t until my third trip at the age of 29 that I finally got to experience staying on the island on Manhattan and that’s when my extreme obsession kicked in. During what was my fourth trip to the city, my solo trip to New York last summer, I stayed on 5th Avenue (at 35th St) and I had THE best time ever. In fact, I was utterly totally pissed when it was time for me to leave. It’s strange. I travel to different places all the time but, unlike other cities/countries I’ve visited, I always leave New York feeling that my love affair with the city hasn’t ended yet.

I’ve previously blogged/tweeted about my love of New York based chick-flicks. To some people Paris is the city of love, but to me its all about The Big Apple. Strolling along holding hands in Central Park, eating brunch at a sidewalk cafe in trendy NoLita, sitting at Pier 17 in the blazing sun eating hot dogs and drinking ice cold beer while gazing out over the Lower Manhattan waterfront….*le sigh*.  For some unknown reason I feel that my dating life would be a million times better if I lived in New York. A romanticised deluded case of ‘the grass is always greener on the other side’ syndrome, perhaps? Yeah maybe, but that doesn’t stop me fantasising.

Over the past week, watching Christmas/new year movies on TV such as 13 Going on 30, Enchanted and Three Men and a Baby, I of course realised they were all based in New York. This set me off on one of my NYC-based tweeting sprees, (not the first, I admit) except this one ended up turning into a full blown conversation between me and Twitter peeps.  The conversation went a lil something like this…

Firstly – Ha! It’s not just my imagination then. Men in New York DO make more of an effort to approach women than they do here in London. If there is anyone who would know, it’s dating blogger @SingleGalNYC, a native New Yorker who completed an awesome European Dating Blitz last summer.

Secondly – Maybe, the key to me being able to make eye contact with men here in London is for me to adopt that vacation mode. For me to be more open and more chilled out. For me to do more looking up and looking around while taking in my surroundings. Less of my head is down, my eyes are straight ahead,  I’m listening to my ipod, I’m reading a newspaper, I’m in a rush to get somewhere behaviour that I’m oh-so-guilty of doing here at home.

Thirdly – I’m so glad that @SingleGalNYC pointed out the way men approach women can vary across Europe. European countries being lumped together as one is a huge pet peeve of mine. Europe is full of many countries, many languages and many cultures and customs. Just Sayin’…

8 Responses to “I Heart New York”

  1. Natalie January 5, 2011 at 3:40 PM #

    I heart New York and going back at the end of the month! I’ve been in vacation mode when single there and you can get approached a lot, although I would say that it’s very full on. I think guys are pretty chatty here or at least they were when I was dating but admittedly alcohol seems to help them! Never get the whole clubbing Europe into ‘one’ place thing either! Happy New Year!

    • TheSingleFilez January 5, 2011 at 10:00 PM #

      Happy New Year Natalie! But hold on, you were there just the other day, that is SO not fair. I’ll DM you for deets.

      I’m afraid I don’t find the guys over here very chatty at all. Maybe it’s the vibe I give off? Maybe it’s the way I look away/at the ground?

      I’m so glad you picked up on the ‘Europeans’ thing too. Huge pet peeve of mine, grrr…

  2. MoneyMaus January 5, 2011 at 3:45 PM #

    Lady, I too have that unhealthy OBSESSION with New York! Hence why I’m trying to move there this year and am on the job hunt big time. It’s my #1 priority…and about dating there, I wouldn’t care. Because I have an entire city to love 24/7!!!! 😉

    (FYI, the backgrounds on my Blackberry, personal laptop and work computer are ALL of the NYC skyline.)

    • TheSingleFilez January 5, 2011 at 9:04 PM #

      See, this is why I love blogging! It always lets me know that I’m not alone. You’re the third person today to admit to me they also have a slight stalkerish obsession tendencies towards New York. I feel so much better now 😉

  3. Wendi B January 5, 2011 at 3:58 PM #

    I’m going to do the same thing when I get back from Ghana! I’ll pretend I’m in London on holiday, and walk down the street smiling as if “I’m so happy to be here”!

    • TheSingleFilez January 5, 2011 at 8:46 PM #

      Haha! Except, the thing is Wendi, you do that in London and people will think you’ve lost your marbles 😉

  4. somethingshedated April 24, 2011 at 7:09 PM #

    @SingleGalNYC and you are very right…European countries vary a GREAT deal and honestly I’d even say within those countries…some cities…like Paris…I get TONS TONS TONS of love…but everywhere else in France…NADA…the men of Italy look at me like I’m Frankenstein (the ladies’ too!)…but then over in Spain and again…nothing but love!! Especially Barcelona (I had to learn to move fast to avoid all the groping hands haha)…Ireland…now I didn’t spend that much time there but it seemed pretty sparse for attention and England is a little bit of the same…neither excessive nor non-existent…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I Heart New York « The Single Filez -- Topsy.com - January 5, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Money Maus, Natalie Lue (NML). Natalie Lue (NML) said: RT @thesinglefilez: Would my dating life be better on the other side of the Atlantic? I Heart New York: http://wp.me/pASE4-OC […]

Leave a Reply

