It’s Time To Get Ballsy

19 Dec

I’m back. I’m feeling refreshed. I’ve had a break. I’ve had a nice change of scenery. Most importantly, for the sake of this blog anyway,  I’ve not visited a dating website for over three weeks. Like Nina Simone said… “and I’m feeling good”.

Over the past few weeks, at the back of my mind all I’ve been thinking about is how keen I am to get back to blogging. Problem is, without the dating sites, what the hell do I have to blog about? I had been hoping there might’ve been some man-gossip to share from my trip abroad. But no. Out of my two weeks away, I only managed to spot two guys who looked even remotely interesting. One was with his girl, the other I saw when I was with my Dad. If there is one thing that can mess up your ‘hey, look at me I’m free for you to come over flirt and chat me up’ potential, it’s hanging out with your old man.

"Hmmm, so I'll give you 4.5 out of 10"

So yeah. Nothing juicy to share from my trip I’m afraid. The thing is I am still keen to date, but as mentioned in my last post ‘Blogging to Date or Dating To Blog’, I’d like to try and do it without the help of dating websites. But what does this mean? Does this mean I’ll have to be more proactive? Does this mean I’d have to be open to trying different things? Take up a new hobby? Go to singles events? Speed-dating, perhaps? Maybe I just need to remember the tips ‘Get The Guy’s’ Dating Expert Matthew Hussey taught me about how to flirt with guys I see out and about.

Either way, I need to be brave. I need to get myself out there. I mean, what’s the worse that can happen, right? If anything, at least it will get me a story to share with you guys. The words of my fellow blogger Something She Dated pop into my mind…

“And maybe he responds positively.  Maybe he responds negatively.  Maybe he never responds at all.  But the hilarity of it will never be lost on me.  And I hope it won’t be lost on you either.  And next time you’re afraid to do something ballsy.  Think of me.  Think of this blog.  And just do it.  Because worst case scenario.  It’ll give you a hilarious story.  And who doesn’t love a hilarious story?”

She’s a wise ol’ soul is Something She Dated. An awesome Canadian blogger-chick who I kinda sorta heart. She reminds me to have fun and to not always take things so seriously. I mean if she can spot a hot guy in the gym, do some detective work to find out who the hell he is, (stalk him) and find his Facebook profile AND send him a message, then I can do something simple like get out and make eye contact, smile and try to talk to some dudes, right?

Now all I need are the balls to actually do this…

7 Responses to “It’s Time To Get Ballsy”

  1. Man-shopper December 19, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    Yes! I like this vow to balls up!

    I would gladly share my ballsiness with you if I had any. I’m still working on my own debilitating fear of eye contact with the opposite sex. I’ve been working on that since… oh, I don’t know… kindergarten?

    • TheSingleFilez December 19, 2010 at 9:34 PM #

      Oh god. Me too. While I do have the best intentions at heart, lord knows if I’ll be any good at this ‘making eye contact and flirting’ malarkey. I’ll probably need about three cocktails to make it a reality. We’ll see eh?

  2. MoneyMaus December 19, 2010 at 5:23 PM #

    Woohoo! You go, girl. Having the balls to take those risks is hard…but I have a feeling it’ll pay off. 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez December 19, 2010 at 9:38 PM #

      Let’s hope one of my nearest and dearest gives me some balls for Christmas. I’m gonna need them! 😉

  3. nikki04 December 20, 2010 at 5:05 PM #

    I agree! I like this new take and new outlook!

    Might be a selfish interest however… I live in a fairly inclusive area, and I have a very strong social network of friends. I’ve dated/slept with everyone I was attracted to (aside from one… ohh, so adorable and so not into… anyone… it’s like a cruel joke for women and gay men everywhere…). It’s hard to meet new people, too. I tried online dating and I HATED it. I went out a lot, but I’m picky. Sorry. And then I have to deal with them wanting a second date. Bleck.

    Anyways. MY POINT (once I arrive at it) is I’d love to hear how this goes – and you’ll find some advice to pass on! Maybe I’ll find the time to find the motivation to balls up too! 😀

    • TheSingleFilez December 22, 2010 at 12:55 AM #

      Hey Nikki, since I wrote this I’ve found some singles events to go to in January. The question is, how much alcohol will it take to make me brave enough to approach a guy? Haha!

  4. somethingshedated April 24, 2011 at 6:32 PM #

    How did I not comment on this post??!?! Well I digress…obvs I love a good reference to me but more than that…I fully support any situation when things get balls out…so as I prepare to read like 20 entries and catch up on what’s been going on in your dating life in the last 4 months-ish…I’m fingers crossed to see some ballsy action 😉

Leave a Reply

