Back To The Drawing Board

24 Nov

Last Friday I had date number two with T.B. but I’m afraid to say that this time I kept finding little things irritating. Like, why does he always cut me off when I’m talking so that he can turn the conversation around to himself? Why doesn’t he seem capable of taking charge and planning something for us to do on a date? (Both times I was greeted with a “so, where do you want to go?”) And, why is he still wearing the same unflattering trainers and jacket he wore on our first date?

Maybe I had mixed my drinks too much on the first date and therefore didn’t notice it first time around? Maybe I was blinded by the good emails and text messages prior to our first meeting? Or maybe… just maybe, I really needed to feel positive about my dating life so much that I allowed myself to get unnecessarily hyped up about the first date because (compared to others) he seemed somewhat normal? Who knows. All I do know is that I didn’t enjoy the second date as much as I did the first. In fact, I ended the date early. He wanted to go onto somewhere with music, but I was tired and just wanted to go home.

On the way home from the date I felt deflated… between the recent dates with The Chatty Policeman and now the disappointment with T.B, I’m on another dating downer. Too much time and energy is going into this and I’m not seeing the desired results. Yep, it’s back to the drawing board I go.

Terri Walker: Drawing Board

Men can come
Men can go
I just roll with the flow
Some can flex
Send me texts
But if something doesn’t fit
It’s back to the drawing board

14 Responses to “Back To The Drawing Board”

  1. Sparky November 24, 2010 at 4:04 PM #

    I soooo feel your pain!!

    • TheSingleFilez November 24, 2010 at 8:32 PM #

      It can get a bit ‘grrrr’ sometimes can’t it?

  2. MoneyMaus November 24, 2010 at 4:42 PM #

    Ugh!! So sorry. I hate dating downers…Crossing my fingers for better ones for you soon.

    Current boy I’m dating has 1 pair of casual shoes and maybe 2 pairs of jeans from what I can tell? And I’ve seen a shirt repeated, too! However, wardrobe is the one thing that you actually CAN change about a guy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • TheSingleFilez November 24, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

      Oh totally. If I met a great guy and we got along, he made me laugh, we had a connection but he didn’t dress well… I could totally work with that. How a guy dresses isn’t the be all and end all for me. It helps, buts its not everything. I think I just mentioned it because I was irritated about other things… and that added to it.

      I’m not superficial, promise!

  3. wordwanderlust November 24, 2010 at 4:44 PM #

    Oh crappy … i was rooty tootin’ for you. Enjoy the date break and remember to take your sketch pad (a girl can dream). Look forward to the next episode.

    • TheSingleFilez November 24, 2010 at 8:46 PM #

      Aaww, well thanks for the rooty tootin’. That’s always appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. nicole November 24, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

    I feel your pain lady. Perhaps we really should house swap for Christmas. ๐Ÿ™‚ Only if your brother is Jude Law though.

    • TheSingleFilez November 25, 2010 at 10:34 PM #

      Ha! No Jude Law types around these parts I’m afraid. And, I hate to burst your bubble… but the ‘real’ London is nothing like ‘The Holiday’….. still wanna house swap? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. The Hopeful Romantic November 24, 2010 at 9:01 PM #

    Sorry to hear that hun – I had real hopes that I’d get to buy a hat (I kid).

    But that ‘Real Love’ is out there somewhere. I’m convinced. Just not like in the movies. Keep ‘doing you’. Stay positive x

    P.s. I โค Ms Walker.

    • TheSingleFilez November 25, 2010 at 10:35 PM #

      Thanks! That’s all I can do girlie…. keep doing me. That’s what I do best.

      Thanks for mentioning Ms Walker, not sure if anyone else noticed, LOL

  6. nikki04 November 25, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

    Bummer, lady. I hear you on the dating-downer thing. There are a lot of people out there that are just plain un-interesting to me.

    What would be interesting? Honest? I have no idea. But I know it when I see it.

    • TheSingleFilez November 25, 2010 at 10:50 PM #

      That’s a hard question isn’t it? One that’s not easy to put into words. I think like you, I know when I see or feel if someone is interesting.

      My problem is, the guys I usually find interesting turn out to be doofuses. Doh!

      • nikki04 November 27, 2010 at 6:02 PM #

        How true is that. For me, “interesting” apparently means things like “bartender” or “I play hockey.” Which also mean “douche canoe.” At least in my experience.

  7. Brooklyn HoneyB November 26, 2010 at 4:03 PM #

    hola chica! hope your thanksgiving holiday has been a feast full of deliciousness. I too was rooting for things to work out helped get over my own thing to step it up in the dating scene (& online too). I’m still rooting for ya!

    Sistah Love from the U.S.

Leave a Reply

