Things Are Heating Up

17 Nov

As much as I always knock the terrible messages I get on POF, I have to admit, it’s actually been the most fruitful dating website for me this year. Mr PAYG, Italian Guy, The Business Man AND Older Guy – were all from Plenty of Fish.

After a brief spell on My Single Friend (where other than me being ignored, absolutely zilch happened), I decided to give POF another go and since then I’ve had a coffee date The Chatty Policeman and after work drinks last Friday with the Trini Bajan.

Who Is He?

I’ll call him the Trini Bajan (T.B. for short) because of his heritage. One parent from Trinidad and the other from Barbados. I first heard from T.B. a couple of weeks ago. Not only was I pleasantly surprised when I saw his photo, but I read his message and was delighted to find that it was conversational, witty and well put together too. He said he’d written to me before (really? I so-ooo would’ve remembered that) but I had ignored him. He was feeling lucky that day so he thought he’d try again. Turns out he’d messaged me previously without a pic on his profile. He removes his photo whenever he’s not online because he spotted a couple of women from in his office on POF and he doesn’t want to be part of ‘office gossip’. Admittedly, I was a bit suspicious… seems a bit ‘shady’, no? However, I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt.

We carried on exchanging messages via POF for just under a week before exchanging numbers. After that we pretty much text/talked every other day until we met. You know those witty, flirty ‘chit chatty’ text messages I didn’t get from Older Guy? Well, I think I may have found them!

The Positives
The biggest positive was that it felt like we clicked. Even pre-first date, the communication between us had me feeling excited. Small things, such as texting the day after my birthday night out asking “So, how was last night? Are you still recovering?” seemed really nice.

The Negatives
The only negative pre-meeting was the red flag in the back of my mind about him removing his pic from his dating profile. Paints a picture of someone with something to hide. Also I think after my Baggage Reclaim workshop, I was on the lookout for possible signs of potential Mr Unavailable’s.

A dinner date. Lovely!

The Date
I was excited about the date. Probably the most excited I’d been about a date in a while. At the same time, slightly worried. What if we didn’t click as much in person as we did online/on the phone? What if we didn’t find eachother physically attractive? Aaaargggh.

Truth is, it was a pretty good date. I have no drama to share. Nothing bad happened. Pretty boring for a blog post, but pretty great for me. We met after work on Friday, he was a little late but he had sent me a text beforehand to let me know, so that was fine. We went for a drink, which turned into three drinks, which turned into dinner. Conversation was great, no awkward pauses, felt comfortable, things in common, lots of laughter. Basically, total awesomesauce.

It’s a promising start but with other dates lined up with The Chatty Policeman and new guy, The 26 Year Old, things are definitely heating up on the dating front. Let’s see where this one leads eh?

10 Responses to “Things Are Heating Up”

  1. City Girl November 17, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    By the sounds of it, you’ve had a fair bit of Luck with POF. I’m officially giving up on that site and moving on with my life. I’ve had nothing but stalkers and men who want to marry me… within the month!

    • TheSingleFilez November 17, 2010 at 3:21 PM #

      My experiences with the first few guys I met from POF were definitely not good ones! Older Guy… hmmm okay, so he wasn’t bad. As for this one, time will tell eh?

      Being on POF is like searching for a needle in a haystack!

  2. wordwanderlust November 17, 2010 at 12:18 PM #

    Nice when you meet. Let us all know how long the contact goes on…Not sure if it’s just me, but 5 weeks seem to be the norm and then it’s like they never existed. As women start to open up, the men seem to shut down. Weird??

    • TheSingleFilez November 17, 2010 at 3:24 PM #

      Weird, but so true! For me they seem to shut down around the 6-8 week mark. Very annoying eh?

  3. MissMegasaurus November 17, 2010 at 3:32 PM #

    Glad to hear you had a great date! I met J&J from my blog on POF but haven’t had any other luck with it. Currently chatty with 2 guys (one from match and one from a networking event). Hope this one works out for ya!

    • TheSingleFilez November 17, 2010 at 11:19 PM #

      Thank you honey. Its still early days yet, so I’m still continuing to line up other dates too. I’ve learnt from past experiences not to count my eggs before they’ve hatched 😉

  4. Laura K November 17, 2010 at 7:34 PM #

    that’s great news. Regardless of what happens it’s nice to just have a normal date without any drama or bizaare stories. Thank goodness for one semi-normal man.

    Re: the profile pic- i can see why you’d be suspicious but given what else we know of him i don’t think it’s that suss. I know i wouldn’t want anyone i work with knowing i was on them. Cue lots of embarassing silences and questions of “why i feel i need to resort to such measures” ughhhh.

    • TheSingleFilez November 17, 2010 at 11:29 PM #

      You are so right Laura. It was nice to have just a regular, normal date. No craziness. No drama. It was refreshing. Let’s see if it continues…

      About the hiding of the profile pic, I’ve since come to the conclusion that it is what it is. Ok, so for all I know he may still have a secret girlfriend or wife stashed away somewhere but from what I’ve seen and heard, it doesn’t feel likely. Mind you, nothing surprises me these days! We’ll have to wait and see eh?

  5. MoneyMaus November 18, 2010 at 2:03 AM #

    Good, non-eventful dates are EXACTLY what I love! No craziness, lots of laughter and great conversation. The start of something good 🙂 That’s exactly how my first date with new boy I am dating went. Can’t wait to hear more and good luck with the other dates!

    • TheSingleFilez November 18, 2010 at 11:16 PM #

      Indeed girlie. “Normal” makes a change when it comes to dating these days. Ooooh, exciting that you’ve got a new boy too.

      Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

