Not a Texter, Definitely A Talker…

1 Nov

I’ve been feeling a bit ‘meh’ on the dating front of late.  The O.G. thing crashed and burned, the My Single Friend 10 Day Test fizzled out after I discovered I had to contact ten guys a day for ten days. I mean, really? Are there even 100 decent guys on any one dating site? To put it bluntly, I just couldn’t be arsed. However, for the sake of this blog, I’ve been pushing myself to get things going again. The result is my first ‘new date’ since August…

Who Is He?
Unfortunately MSF wasn’t proving to be a very productive dating site for me and I couldn’t find ONE guy on OKcupid that I found remotely interesting so, I ended up back on POF. Yes, Plenty Of Fish, the same site I constantly knock because of the many badly-put-together messages I receive on there but also the  same site that introduced me to Mr PAYG, Italian Guy and O.G.

The Positives
– He puts together a reasonably well constructed message (hey, if you’ve ever been on POF, you will know this is rare).
– From what I could see, he looked reasonably attractive. There was definitely a good physique going on (I’m sucker for muscular arms and broad shoulders, phwoar).
– He’s not a Londoner. Like me, he’s from outside of London but moved here for work. I always find meeting another fellow honourary Londoner is never a bad thing.

How I felt during my phonecall with the Chatty Policeman

The Negatives
– Following on from positive point number two, I should also say that he was wearing sunglasses in two photos and the remaining other two were quite far away. So good physique aside, I wasn’t really too sure what he looked like.
– He seemed happy to text back and forth,  but  his texts were so bad – one word responses, not very conversational etc – that I quickly suggested we meet for coffee, otherwise I’d relegate him to the ‘boring’ pile before even having met him.
– After accepting my offer to meet for coffee he said he’d give me a call beforehand our date to break the ice… and oh, what a first phone conversation that turned out to be.  Once he started talking he didn’t stop. I couldn’t get a word in edgeways. Within the first 15mins I found out where he was from (West Midlands), what he did for a living (a Policeman), where he lived in London and even what happened to him on that day. He got around to asking about me after approx 15 minutes. Whatever skills he lacked in texting, he truly made up for by talking. A lot.

The Date
The date itself was nice enough but nothing to write home about. He had to go to work so we met for a quick coffee, which worked out perfectly fine for  me. A nice, bite-sized date just to see if he was indeed the sort of guy who would talk me to death.

We talked, (note; I said we, meaning I actually got to speak this time) and it wasn’t bad conversation. All in all, a nice afternoon. I didn’t fancy him but then again, I didn’t think ‘eww’ either. I didn’t come away from it feeling excited but I also didn’t think  “I never want to see this guy again in my life”.

So, a bit blah really. I wasn’t talked to death but other than that, nothing to shout about here folks.  NEXT!

3 Responses to “Not a Texter, Definitely A Talker…”

  1. Something She Dated November 5, 2010 at 4:30 PM #

    Aww…well I know it doesn’t count for much after a date like that…but I love that you’re still getting out there 😛

  2. The Hopeful Romantic November 6, 2010 at 12:09 AM #

    Haaa – we win some we lose some! On to the next!!

  3. TheSingleFilez November 6, 2010 at 3:00 AM #

    Thanks @SSDated. Gotta keep on keeping on eh?

    @TheHopefulRom Yes indeed girl. A lovely guy, but NEXT!

Leave a Reply

