The 10 Day Test

4 Oct

A week ago I was approached by the folks at mysinglefriend.com after they spotted my tweet complaining about a 38 yr old on their site who had specified he only wanted to meet women between the ages of 24 – 32. Understandably this confused (read: annoyed) me, mainly because he looked quite cute but also because at the age of 30 bloody 8, he had the cheek to discriminate against a (still younger than him) 33 yr old such as myself. The folks at MSF very rightly suggested that if, as mentioned on my blog’s ‘About Me’ page, I am indeed a 33 yr old who looks and acts like a 25 yr old that I should contact him and try my luck anyway. They also suggested I should try out their 10 Day Test to add a bit more zest to my MSF experience. I thought, well, after the disappointing episode that was O.G. (it’s been over two weeks since we last spoke and he’s now on holiday in Barbados, FYI) I do need to shake things up a bit and this might just be the way to do it.

"Oooh, this one looks just like Shemar Moore"

MySingleFriend.com
This site is unlike any of the other dating websites I’ve tried previously, mainly because of the way it works. The really cool thing about MSF is that it allows you to choose a friend or two to get involved in the dating process along with you. Your friend (s) have their own separate log-in details so they too can browse through the amount of ‘talent’ on offer and they can even pop ‘recommendations’ into your folder for you to consider. It’s like catalogue shopping for dates, but with your buddies. Absolute total win!

Also, while your profile is made up of the usual standard info  – height, employment, diet, smoker, children etc – the most important part is the introduction your friend writes for you. Think of it in the style of your friend pimping out your best qualities on your behalf.  Telling all of the guys who stop by to check out your profile just how/sweet/caring/adventurous/funny you are and why exactly you would make a hotter than hot date. It’s a interesting concept. Different. Having friends involved in the process can make the whole thing seem more fun and less of a chore.

The only downside to the site (from what I can see so far) is that compared to other dating sites I’ve used, you can feel a bit cut off from the rest of the world on MSF. It’s not very interactive. From what I can see there are no IM/chat features, you don’t get to see who has viewed your profile and it doesn’t tell you who is ‘online now’, so it creates a feeling of being the only person there.

The 10 Day Test
However, the MSF Blog guarantees that by sending 10 messages to 10 members for 10 days my experience will improve. Admittedly, while on dating sites, I’m hardly ever the one who initiates conversation so this will be quite a useful experiment for me. They’ve said that by doing this it will get me used to throwing myself out there, flexing my writing muscles and liven up my inbox activity. Well, sounds all good to me.  Sounds exciting eh? I’m actually ready to do this!

Wish me luck…

5 Responses to “The 10 Day Test”

  1. Sparky October 4, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

    Good luck!! I’m thinking of going on MSF so it will be interesting to see how you get on!

    • TheSingleFilez October 5, 2010 at 10:14 PM #

      I might as well give it a go eh? I’ll keep you updated x

  2. John Boy October 5, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

    I don’t get your problem with 38 guy…

    • TheSingleFilez October 5, 2010 at 10:14 PM #

      Haha! You’re SUCH a man!

      😉

  3. Mindy Lo August 2, 2012 at 11:00 AM #

    Hi,
    Just curious, how you all get on with the MSF. I am considering doing it myself.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

