There’s More To Come…

1 Oct

I can’t believe it’s been six months, already. Admittedly, I actually started blogging as The Single Filez back in July 2009 but after a few piddly, not-very-good posts, the blog fell to the wayside.

So, this means that as far as I’m concerned The Single Filez didn’t truly kick off until the beginning of April 2010 when home alone on Easter Sunday I decided I was going to do this properly and I got things rolling by announcing to the blogosphere “I’m Back!“. I remember, at the time, not knowing if anyone was reading. In fact, I just took a look back at those posts and I see zilch comments, so I’m gonna go right ahead and guess that actually no-one *was* reading.

YAY! The six month milestone! Any excuse for a celebration eh?

Fast forward six months later and thanks to The Single Filez Twitter, now not only do people actually read and share their thoughts on my ramblings but I’ve also discovered a whole new world I didn’t know existed. I’ve made new online friends, met new offline friends, I’ve gone to a singles girls night in, a dating seminar and a bloggers film screening. I’ve taken part in the SingleWomenRule.com Singles Blog Crawl for National USA Week and I’ve pushed myself to get out and date at times when I really didnt feel like it (“I need blog content! I need blog content!”), writing this blog has forced me to more adventurous and more open to dating guys I wouldnt have considered before.

In a weird way, blogging has been very therapeutic for me. Putting my thoughts and feelings into words. And getting feedback. From people I don’t know. From people who accept me just the way I am and who don’t even know what I look like! A lot of these people have made me realise I’m not so weird after all. A lot of these people understand/have been through the same things. It’s a wonderful feeling. What a ride it’s been…. and the great thing is it’s not over yet. I feel like I’m only just getting started, I’m enjoying this. There’s definitely more to come!

In the spirit of ‘more to come’, I’ve decided to pick it up a notch. Check out the new blog header… fancy huh? Designed by the lovely @StudioPixie, check out her work at www.studiopixie.co.uk and *drum roll please*…. from now on, you can find me at http://www.thesinglefilez.com.

6 Responses to “There’s More To Come…”

  1. SallyGriffith October 1, 2010 at 10:55 AM #

    Congrats! x

    • TheSingleFilez October 1, 2010 at 11:48 AM #

      Cheers m’dear 🙂

  2. Mary October 1, 2010 at 11:53 AM #

    Keep up the good work! We love it here at GDG and think it’s brilliant that writing a blog has had such an amazing impact on your life!

    Looking forward to more to come…

    Mx

    • TheSingleFilez October 2, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

      Thank you so much Mary.
      I hope to be able to use some of the GDG dating suggestions in the very near future 🙂

  3. Something She Dated October 7, 2010 at 6:13 PM #

    Congrats lovely!!! And that’s so exciting about your own domain name (I think that’s what it’s called)…adding it to my blog subscriber thing right now (so I don’t miss a beat) 🙂

    SSD

    • TheSingleFilez October 8, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

      Thanks sweets, its pretty damn cool isn’t it? *Girly giggle*

Leave a Reply

