The One I Thought Could Be ‘The One’ (Part 2)

1 Sep

After I got back from that amazing long weekend in Barcelona with ‘The Potential One’ (Good nickname to give him, no?), things carried on pretty much the same as before. Spontaneous after work meet ups turning into sleepovers. Lots of eating out at lovely restaurants. Lots of great quality time together. But then, as always when everything is too good to be true, a spanner was thrown in the works. A spanner in the shape of his family business. He had to fly off to the Philippines, and stay there for weeks, to sort out business related stuff.

It was okay though. We stayed in touch. Lots of emails and the occasional phonecall too. Lots of making plans about things we were going to do when he got back and boy, did we have plans. Through doing hitting targets at work, I’d won a trip for two to Marrakech in Morocco and being that he’d taken me to Barcelona, of course I returned the favour by asking him to come with me. In all honesty, at the time, there wasn’t anyone else I’d rather have come with me anyway. Being the little jet-setters that we were, the day he got back from the Philippines was the exact same day I flew to Cuba to celebrate my 32nd birthday with a friend. We were like passing ships in the night, he landed and I took off on the very same morning. There was just about enough time for a quick “welcome back” and “have a safe trip” phonecall before we were on different continents again.

The Caribbean Ocean from Cayo Coco, Cuba

My trip to Cuba was beautiful, but thanks to Hurricane Paloma, it could have been a lot better.  Bitch-ass hurricane resulted in all flights being cancelled and my birthday weekend in Havana being ruined, but it was okay, I had Morocco to look forward to. I spoke with him via email while I was in Cuba. He joked about making sure I was behaving myself with the Cuban boys, because I was ‘spoken for’ now.  We’d only known eachother for two months but I didn’t mind one bit that he’d said I was ‘spoken for’. In fact, I kinda loved it. That’s how much I was into him. Even my favourite Cuban guy (Laz Alonso…. hello!) could have made a pass at me and it wouldn’t have mattered! (Well….  maybe it would’ve mattered….but you know what I’m trying to say ;-))

We went to Morocco just a few days after I got back from Cuba. (I was one hot jet-setting mothertrucker back in 2008!) Except this time, our trip was different. I was rewarded with this free trip for hitting targets at work, and so too were some of my co-workers. Meaning this time around it wasn’t just me and him alone, we had six other people along for the ride as well. Everyone loved him, he fit into the group seamlessly. I was a bit disappointed not to have him all to myself but our area of Marrakech was a bit ‘dicey’ so, in a way, we felt safer as a group. There were lots of group meals, lots of jokes and laughter and LOTS of alcohol consumed, by some more than by others…

The Riad plunge pool at night

Petals on the bed and everything *wolf whistle*

Overlooking the Riad courtyard

Please bear in mind that the country of Morocco is an Islamic state located in North Africa. Also bear in mind that although our Riad was gorgeous, as mentioned previously, the area wasn’t so great. To me that means we needed to be careful. To my work colleagues, however, it meant they should drink themselves silly in a country where alcohol is frowned upon and not even widely available. Don’t get me wrong, I do love a drink (or six) when I’m on holiday BUT I keep it relative to my environment. Being in an unfamiliar country, a country with completely different values, a completely different set of rules, automatically means I’m going to be more careful. Not my colleagues though… one of the girls in our group got into a loud screaming match with a doorman who said her boyfriend couldn’t go into a bar because he was wearing shorts, another girl got so drunk she was flirting with/trying to snog the face off of a really uncomfortable looking Muslim waiter (so disrespectful!), the same chick also thought it was okay to run around the Riad telling all of the other guests that she loved them. This same girl (who by the way, didn’t even work with us, she was a guest of a colleague) was overcome with the urge to drunkenly shout at my Potential One “SHOW US YOUR COCK!” one night at dinner. I was not impressed, in fact, what I really wanted to do was slap her across her disrespectful face…

The Koutoubia Mosque

Gorgeous blue skies

Overlooking the Souks

Next, the ending. TO BE CONTINUED…

6 Responses to “The One I Thought Could Be ‘The One’ (Part 2)”

  1. Sparky September 1, 2010 at 12:13 PM #

    Part 3 soon please!!

  2. Wendi B September 1, 2010 at 1:43 PM #

    Aggggghhhhhh!!! You better be writing right now!!

  3. Dragonessa Fiore September 1, 2010 at 3:41 PM #

    You are now officially Queen of the Cliffhangers LoL!!! That woman was crazy though…yeowzers!!! Even with alcohol, thats out of control! I have the feeling she has something to do with part 3??

    2008 sounds travel lucky as all give out for you! The practical part of me is thinking…frequent flier miles yay! hehehe!

    • TheSingleFilez September 2, 2010 at 10:32 AM #

      Literally just a case of me typing, and typing, and typing and realising that what I have to say is WAY too much to fit into one post. Hence, having to split it up into three!

      Aaahh yes, 2008 was a good year. Toronto, Barcelona, Cuba and Marrakech in one year. *Sigh*

  4. Mary September 1, 2010 at 7:50 PM #

    Next instalment pleeeeeeease! Also, I’m off to Morocco next week and would love any tips/advice!!!

    x

    • TheSingleFilez September 2, 2010 at 10:31 AM #

      My first tip would be… don’t get drunk and try to get off with the waiters!

      Other than that, I’ll drop you a line 🙂

Leave a Reply

