Are Chick Flicks Evil?

13 Aug

I’m not ashamed to admit that I love a good chick flick. It’s evident just how much when you check out past blog posts. Long time readers may remember posts about Sex And The City 2 and The Back-Up Plan. Not too long ago I bitched about the fact my solo trip to New York wasn’t anything like my fave NY-based rom coms; Hitch, How To Lose a Guy In 10 Days and Brown Sugar.

Doris Day & Rock Hudson. My love of chick flicks goes way back.

It started while I very young. As a kid I was enamoured with films such Grease, Dirty Dancing, Pretty Woman (I own all three films on DVD as an adult, FYI) as well as movies featuring greats such as Doris Day, Judy Garland, Ginger Rogers, Fred Astaire, Rock Hudson and Bing Crosby (Seriously showing my age here). I’ve always been a sucker for a happy romantic ending.

Happy Ever After Addicts
A friend of mine forwarded me this article on the Grazia website, “Are Romantic Films Ruining Your Love Life?”
and it made me think. Once again I’m going to refer to that book, but I remember Marry Him: The Case For Settling For Mr Good Enough also had a chapter that touched upon romantic movies and how they’ve manage to drum it into our heads that the handsome, perfect, Knight-In-Shining-Armour-type is what we should be looking for. In my late teens and twenties, there was a part of me that thought it normal. It was what I was aiming for, I wanted the same thing that Meg Ryan and Julia Roberts had. However now, being the bitter old cynic that I am, I watch these movies and think “Pssh. Yeah right, like that would ever happen in real life.” Unrealistic-ness aside, I still love the fantasy of chick flicks and nine times out of ten, I’ll have an lump in my throat by the time I get to the end of the movie. Sometimes, (ahem, most of the time) I’ll end up straight bawling my eyes out. Just a couple of weekends ago I tweeted while watching 500 Days of Summer –

“What I’ve learnt from 500 Days of Summer: Act like you don’t give a shit & THEN that’s when a nice guy’ll want a relationship with you. Duh.”

and I received this interesting response from New York blogger Jack From Brooklyn. Oh, how I do love a male point of view –

“Romantic comedies RUIN relationships; in real life good guys appreciate women who are good to them #chickflicksSUCK”

So there you have it, “Romantic comedies RUIN relationships” and “Chick Flicks Suck”. Ouch. That’s another vote against ‘evil’ chick flicks then. Are rom coms really to blame? I don’t think so. Just as I don’t think horror films are responsible for creating serial killers. If a person knows their ‘own mind’ surely they can’t be swayed into making life decisions based upon Hollywood make-believe?

As for my views on the Grazia article: Hell no, I don’t think rom coms have rose-tinted my vision and yes, there is most definitely something wrong with being caught up in chasing the perfect Hollwood ending. Wake up people, this is the real world!

4 Responses to “Are Chick Flicks Evil?”

  1. Man-shopper August 13, 2010 at 11:54 AM #

    Unfortunately, I think that rom coms have an insidious influence on our culture — despite our best efforts to tell ourselves otherwise. Even though I hate rom coms, which either induce white-hot fury at the world or provoke my gag reflex, I can’t deny the fact that they still have in impact on the way I think about love and relationships — on some sub-conscious level at least.

    Although I spend a lot of time ranting about how rom coms are unrealistic and how they poison our minds, there is something in the deepest, darkest recesses of my mind that is still hoping that I can have some semblance of that happy ending. On some level, I want that handsome guy to move the earth to be with me. I’m awesome, right? Why can’t I find a guy like that?

    I have to talk myself down from that, and it’s tiring. Stupid rom coms. I hate everything.

    • TheSingleFilez August 13, 2010 at 1:07 PM #

      I hear you hun, I do. Although, for me it’s almost like I have what I like to call ‘my poster boys’ – David Beckham, Shemar Moore, Eddie Cibrian et al. They’re my fantasy boys who I drool over on a regular basis. Are they real? Would I expect my real life boyfriend to look like them? Hell no. (I should be so damn lucky!)

      I think it’s about being realistic. About being able to distinguish between fact and fiction. Although, I do agree with you about wanting the happy ending. I want one too… with ‘Prince Charming’? Maybe not, but with a regular guy who is ‘right for me’? I bloody well hope so!

  2. delightfuleccentric August 14, 2010 at 3:35 PM #

    I think it actually started with fairy tales. Cinderella, Snow White, Beauty & the Beast, and every other story that ends with “And they lived happily ever after.” Add romantic comedies and romance novels, is it really any wonder women have an ideal in mind when we think about our romantic relationships?

    • TheSingleFilez August 15, 2010 at 12:16 PM #

      So very true. I loved fairy tales as a kid. The amount of times I watched ‘The Slipper & The Rose’ film adaptation of Cinderella was ridiculous.

      Yes, it really would be wonderful to live ‘happily ever after’… *Sigh*

Leave a Reply

