Yes, Gentlemen Do Still Exist (Part 1)

9 Aug

A Gentleman - Old school style

Compared to going out for casual after-work drinks,  Saturday dates seem more ‘special’. Knowing there is no work the next day, more time to prepare, time to shower, time to give myself a  mani/pedi and time to play around with my outfit – it just feels like more of a big deal doesn’t it? Even more so knowing that he was coming to pick me up. I said I wouldve been happy to make my own way and meet him there, but he absolutely insisted. At the time we arranged the date he told me he would pick me up and drop me home too… what on earth is this considerate and courteous gentlemanly behaviour? I’m not at all familiar with it. No comprende.

Anyways, after near enough a whole week of feeling excited about our second date, on Saturday afternoon I received a phonecall from Older Guy. I assumed it was just him calling to finalise plans, but I was wrong. He was calling to say that unfortunately one of his jobs had ran over and he wanted to know if would it be ok if we postponed our dinner date until Sunday. (Without boring you all to death with the details, he’s a self-employed IT contractor and one of his important clients system’s went down so he had worked all through the previous night fixing it but had to go back in on Saturday to finish the job). Of course I was disappointed,  but at the same time I totally understood and respected why he had to move our date. I tried to hide the disappointment in my voice but I couldn’t have done too good a job, because he repeatedly kept trying to reassure me, “I’m not messing you about, honestly. I was really looking forward to seeing you tonight”.

I tried my best to convince him all was fine and tried to get into some lighthearted conversation, I didn’t want to come across like a sulky teenager but deep down, I couldn’t help feeling disappointed… I HAD BEEN LOOKING FORWARD TO MY SATURDAY NIGHT DATE GODDAMMIT!

Not too long after the phone conversation ended, I got a text message from Older Guy saying:

“I apologise again and will make it up to you tomorrow xxx”

I thought that was sweet of him. Apart from the fact his work had come in the way of our dates twice now, he actually keeps on impressing me. I replied to the text saying that I was gutted, I had been looking forward to our Saturday night date but such is life, I’ll see him tomorrow (Sunday) instead. I finished the text with a upbeat “Now, go and get some sleep!” (he had been working all night). I honestly didn’t want to let him know just how disappointed I really was. You’re only supposed to appear lighthearted, carefree and mysterious at this stage, right?

Anyway, after a bit of therapeutic whinging on Twitter next thing you know… I get a text message from him saying:

“Right, its sorted. I’ve spoken to the client and told him I have a hot date tonight, lol! He was really cool about it and I’ll finish the job off tomorrow. I’m off to get some sleep and I will pick you up at 7pm. I didn’t phone you just in case you try to change my mind! xxx”

I literally broke out in the largest, cheesiest smile ever. Wow and, wow. If I was impressed before, now I was feeling mighty damn special! I text back to let him know I felt guilty for getting in the way of his work and yes I had been disappointed, but I would have managed to survive waiting until the next day! Although, I also let him know that I wasn’t complaining and that I’d see him later at 7pm! Hahaha yes I am sweet but no, I’m not stupid…

To be continued…

12 Responses to “Yes, Gentlemen Do Still Exist (Part 1)”

  1. Lafayette August 9, 2010 at 1:12 PM #

    Erm, so when do we get the next post? You are leaving us hangin girl…NOT COOL!
    Second post, second post, second post!

    • TheSingleFilez August 9, 2010 at 4:35 PM #

      It’s coming soon! Had too much to go into one post, so thought it made sense to split it in two 😉

  2. Glueberry Baker August 9, 2010 at 1:21 PM #

    So now I want to know…. I love the love story, the good ending, the sparkle…
    So next next next

    • TheSingleFilez August 9, 2010 at 4:35 PM #

      Soon, I promise 🙂

  3. Sarah Finley August 9, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    Love the cliff hanger….but you can’t keep us waiting too long – what happened on the date?

    He sounds like a really nice guy I hope it works out – fingers crossed x

    • TheSingleFilez August 9, 2010 at 4:36 PM #

      Thanks hun. Will post date details shortly!

  4. Glueberry Baker August 9, 2010 at 4:38 PM #

    Ask him if he’s got french blood because of his manners…. I’m joking….

    • TheSingleFilez August 10, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

      Haha! Jamaican parentage on both sides. No French in there I’m afraid 😉

  5. Dazediva August 9, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    Can’t soon be like right now ?

    I miss feeling that kinda excitement – enjoy it darling ! 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez August 10, 2010 at 10:17 AM #

      Thank you sweets. Yep, the feeling of excitement is great, long may it continue!

      • lisa ventham August 10, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

        what happened on the date? !?! please tell me it was as excitiong as the build up?! xxx

  6. Something She Dated August 10, 2010 at 10:41 PM #

    I love that we’re both dating gentleman (and are total inexperienced at it)!!! Can’t wait to hear the rest of this…

Leave a Reply

