Excited!

5 Aug

I know it’s way more scandalous and definitely more interesting to read about my disastrous dates from hell but please allow me this one time. It might be a bit sickly for some but I really feel like writing a post on how excited I am about this coming weekend’s date with Older Guy. Go ahead, you have my permission to go stick your fingers down your throat and make that ‘vom face’ behind my back…

You see, it’s just that it’s been a really long time since I last looked forward to a second date this much. Sure, I’ve had second dates since I started this blog, but when I look back on them I was never fully into it. I wrote about the reservations I felt before date number two with Mr PAYG and I wrote about the fact that even though I wasn’t blown away by Italian Guy I thought I’d try a second time, just in case. However, this time I’m going into the second date proper, full-on, excited. I don’t know if that’s necessarily a good or bad thing?

Woooo hoooo! (Excited? Moi?)

I keep telling myself I’ve only met the dude once and not get my hopes up but I’m so rubbish at trying to curb excitement. I mean, sheesh, the date isnt until Saturday evening so why have I been thinking about what I’m going to wear since… Tuesday? Because I’m bloody excited, that’s why.

We’ve had a few phone conversations since our first date last week and I like him, he’s a cool guy. There is definitely chemistry there. Also I’ve learnt some interesting things this week, I’ve learnt that he’s hidden his online dating profile since he started talking to me. He doesn’t want to confuse things and would prefer to get to know me first rather than keep meeting other women at the same time. Nice. I also learnt that he considered inviting me to his belated 40th birthday BBQ his Mum threw for him last weekend but then thought against it after realising it would be too much, what with his huge-ass family being there. I agreed it would’ve been a bit premature and also, scary as hell but at the same time, how schweet did I feel knowing that he even just considered inviting me along??

It’s not unusual for me to try and stop myself from feeling excited about a guy. I do it whenever I meet a guy that I like. I’m guilty of getting excited, getting my hopes up which only means I end up even more devastated when things go wrong. If we’ve clicked and there’s definite chemistry PLUS he makes it clear that he likes me too, I can’t help but feel good about it. Cool as a cucumber on the outside mind you, but jumping up and down like a mad woman on the inside.

I know it’s wa-hay premature but I see crazy potential here and what can I say? It truly excites me.

4 Responses to “Excited!”

  1. Lafayette August 5, 2010 at 1:04 PM #

    I am excited for you too girl!
    You gotta keep us posted with this one. Fingers Crossed xx

    • TheSingleFilez August 5, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

      Thank you. Fingers crossed indeed!
      🙂

  2. Sparky August 5, 2010 at 5:26 PM #

    Good luck hope you have a great 2nd date!

    • TheSingleFilez August 5, 2010 at 10:53 PM #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

