Age Ain’t Nothing But a Number

2 Aug

Second date within a week, not too shabby even if I do say so myself. Still haven’t heard a thing from The Business Man mind you, but whatever. Obviously wasn’t meant to be. On to the next one and all that good stuff. Funnily enough, the ‘next one’ turned out to be someone I’d already been speaking to for a little while.

Older but no, not *this* much older...

Who Is He?
I’ll call him ‘Older Guy’ because duh, he’s older than me. (Didn’t have to be a genius to figure that one out eh?) At 37 years old Older Guy has four years on me, which considering I usually attract younger guys, feels like a bit of a novelty. I’ve always wanted to know what it would be like to date an older guy. So when Older Guy approached me on POF back in the middle of June, I was intrigued to say the least. Especially seeing as most of the older men who approach me on these sites tend to be older than my Dad. Each to their own, but I personally don’t ‘do’ Grandpas. Older Guy looked cute (not hot, not sexy but cute), he was a few years older but not excessively so, his spelling and grammar wasn’t scary, his profile sounded interesting AND he had no kids – hooray!

Older Guy and I exchanged quite a few messages before I went away on my solo vacay. The messages mostly consisted of the usual ‘getting to know you’ chit chat, lots of cheeky jokes, sharing Youtube links of music artists we liked (I do love me a music geek!) and after a couple of weeks he messaged to say we should definitely meet up for drinks once I got back from my holiday. Yup, sounded all good to me.

The Positives
– The fact he’s older than me. I’ve often wondered if my bad luck with guys has been tied into the fact I’ve only dated guys my own age or younger. Always been curious about older men.
– Loved that we could talk about music artists and he knew who I was talking about.
– Easy and fun to talk to. Sounds boring but it helps, a lot.

The Negatives
– I think this maybe the first time I’ve said this in one of my dating updates but…. I’m happy to say there were no pre-date negatives. None at all. (Woah!)

The Date
Our first date was originally supposed to happen the weekend after I got back from Barbados. We spoke on the phone, we arranged a time and place, but it never happened. Something work-related came up at the last minute. It was okay though, we stayed in touch and to be honest what it meant was that by the time we met up I already felt some degree of ‘familiarity’ being around him. I mean, we had already been speaking for a month.

We went to a bar for drinks (Yay, this one drinks alcohol!) and we talked, laughed and bonded for the next few hours. Had a really lovely evening. Felt normal. Felt comfortable. Comfortable enough that when the subject of the Star Trek movie came up, I felt suitably at ease to be able to reveal my slightly geeky love of sci-fi and all things related to time travel. Luckily his level of sci-fi geekiness was about ten above mine. In the words of Hiro Nakamura from Heroes – “YATTA”!

A Good Date. Yay!

Something else I liked was with The Business Man, I was sat there watching him take phone calls, send text messages and checking his phone whereas this time with Older Guy, we both had our phones out – but it was to go through eachother’s family photos. I saw his lovely nieces, nephews and siblings. Family-orientated, I like it.

The only surprise of the evening came when I wished Older Guy a belated happy birthday for the previous day. He then admitted he’d lied about his age on POF. Turns out instead of being 37 turning 38, he had been 39 and had just turned 40 the day before our date. I was a little shocked but mostly just annoyed that he’d lied in the first place. I didn’t feel it was too much of a biggie, mostly because I’d already spoken to him enough to know it didn’t make a difference. He’s a youthful 40. Looks-wise, he could easily pass for 35/36 and anyway, like my dear friend TT said “Well, you wanted an older guy”. Yes indeed.

Oh and I can’t forget to mention the all important follow up: Not too long after I got home, I received the following text message from him – “I’m home now… thanks again for a lovely evening, look forward to next time x”. Schweet.

2 Responses to “Age Ain’t Nothing But a Number”

  1. Something She Dated August 4, 2010 at 9:34 PM #

    I’m learning that older…is the way to go 😛 (not old like my dad gross! but just older)…though a mass generalization obviously…they tend to be more gentlemanly but not in a too-nice-not-really-nice-just-pathetic kind of way but in a sincere-I’m-such-a-grown-up-manly-man-that-I-know-how-to-treat-a-lady-and-do-the-right-stuff 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear more 🙂

    • TheSingleFilez August 5, 2010 at 8:14 AM #

      Thanks hun. That’s what I’m thinking, actually, hoping. I’m hoping that an older guy would be more comfortable within themselves, be more sure about what they are looking for and most important in my case, would be looking for something long term.

      Date number two this weekend so we’ll see eh? Watch this space!

      😉

Leave a Reply

