Headed For A Solo Adventure

29 Jun

So this is it. I’m actually doing this. Tomorrow I’m travelling across the Atlantic Ocean to take on both The Big Apple and the beautiful island of Barbados, all on my lonesome. Scary, but exciting at the same time.

The downside of being single at my age is that most of my friends already have holiday plans with their boyfriends or they’re staying at home with their hubbies and babies. Hold up, let me be more truthful. I did have someone to travel with in the beginning. At first I was going to NYC with one of my oldest, dearest friends. You know, that friend you went to junior, secondary school and college with? The friend who you were inseparable from as a teenager? Well, that’s her. Despite our shared childhood we have very different adult lives. She’s been with her ‘other half’ since they were 17 and they have a 13 yr old son. So whilst I’m up here in London living the single life, she’s back in our hometown living the family life. Anyway, she decided she’d finally have some fun and come along with me for a girlie trip but unfortunately it wasn’t meant to be. A month after we booked our flights and accommodation, she discovered she was pregnant. Wonderful news considering they’d been trying for awhile but not so wonderful for our plans.

After a few weeks of trying to find a replacement travel buddy I gave in to the realisation that I was going to do this alone. Actually, the more I thought about it, the more excited I got! I’ve travelled alone before, a couple of nights in Paris, a couple of nights in Amsterdam but I’ve never done anything on as big a scale as this but hey, that’s what makes it exciting isn’t it? It’s a brand new experience, a chance to meet new people, a chance to be selfish and to go where I want, for how long I want with nobody to tell me otherwise. I know some people in NYC and I have relatives and friends in Barbados, so I can choose when exactly I want to be alone. Perfect!

Also, another positive is that apparently people (ahem, men) are more likely to strike up a conversation with a lone female. Not in a ‘creepy axe murderer’ kinda way but in an ‘he thinks I look more approachable and then he’s going to go gaga over my British accent’ kinda way. Here’s hoping my trip brings opportunities and of course,  heaps of hot men.

See you on the other side my lovelies, until then, feel free to check out some personal pics from my previous NYC & Barbados trips.

TSF
x

New York City

The view from my hotel room, NYC, June 2006

Times Square at night

The Brooklyn Bridge, looking at Manhattan

Barbados (and yes, it really is this beautiful!)

The Boatyard Beach, Bridgetown

Dover Beach, Christchurch

Sunset at Paynes Bay, St James

6 Responses to “Headed For A Solo Adventure”

  1. Emma June 29, 2010 at 4:30 PM #

    Oh I’d love to do that but I just don’t have the guts. Hope you have a fab adventure!

    • TheSingleFilez June 29, 2010 at 9:26 PM #

      Thanks Emma. I’m so-ooo excited!

      ‘They’ say (I have no idea who ‘they are’ mind you!) that a woman should experience travelling alone at least once in her life. If you’d like to do it, you should give it a go hun. Nothing’s stopping ya!

  2. Solo @ 30 June 29, 2010 at 4:47 PM #

    I think it’s incredibly awesome that you’re taking this trip! You are my travel hero! I’d love to do a similar solo journey abroad. Have an absolutely amazing time! Soak it all in and take lots of photos.

    Yes, you’ll find your British accent will definitely endear you to many. 🙂 I’m just one state over from NYC. How long will you be there?

    • TheSingleFilez June 29, 2010 at 9:29 PM #

      Thank you! Yes, I’ll be taking photos of EVERYTHING. NYC for 5 nights and then Barbados for 5 nights. Are you close enough to hang out?? I’ve DM’d you 🙂

  3. Something She Dated June 29, 2010 at 5:19 PM #

    Sooooo jealous!!! While I love travelling with a sexy someone or my awesome friends…there is something about travelling solo that is amazing! brilliant! easy! priceless! relaxing! exhilirating! refreshing! confidence boosting! basically makes you ready to take over the world and happy enough not to desire to 😛

    You’re going to have so much fun. Talk to people…enjoy your alone time…ENJOY the SUN!! oy did I mention I was jealous 🙂

    Have a blast!

    • TheSingleFilez June 30, 2010 at 12:06 AM #

      Hey, thanks so much for reading!

      You so-ooooo hit the nail on the head with this sentence… “there is something about travelling solo that is amazing! brilliant! easy! priceless! relaxing! exhilirating! refreshing! confidence boosting!”

      You’ve just said everything that I hope my trip will be. Watch this space eh?

      Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

