Why I Miss The ‘Old’ Sex And The City

28 May

Today, the very highly anticipated Sex And The City 2 movie is released in the UK.

Having been a huge fan of the TV series, I’m disappointed to say that I’m not as excited about the sequel as I’d like to be. I think it’s because I feel it should have been left alone, I don’t want my fantastic memories of the SATC girls ruined by more crappy sequels. Admittedly, I LOVED the first movie with an absolute passion (saw it once in Toronto, once in London and about eight times on DVD) but I’m worried that the dollar signs have caused the studio execs to take it too far.

For me, gone is the smart, gritty, scarily real-to-life take on modern relationships that we saw in the TV series. How many times did you laugh out loud because you could relate to exactly what the girls were going through? Or how many times did you think ‘I’ve done that’ or ‘Oh my god, I know that sort of guy’?. It’s now been replaced with unrealistic glossy-looking scenes in Abu Dhabi (actually, Morocco) involving riding camels through the desert and expensive designer labels. Granted, Manolo Blahnik’s were always there but these days SATC is more like a glorified clothing catalogue than about the four bold, intelligent women who wouldn’t allow men to define them who we so fondly remember.

The brilliant sexually ground-breaking script, the single girl dilemmas, it seemed they were just like us. Going through the same things we were going through. Now, they seem to be glamorous, fluffy, glittery sparkly versions of their former selves. Also, this time around, the posters contain some of the most ludicrous airbrushing I’ve ever seen.

Kim's face. SJP's hair. Shoddy airbrushing.

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not hating on the movie. In fact, I’m going to see it tonight and I’m very much looking forward to it too; my love for Carrie, Miranda, Charlotte and Samantha runs deep. I’m looking forward to lots of laughs and some ‘ooohs’ and ‘aaaahs’ too. Hell yeah, bring it on! It’s the ultimate girlie night out.

Am I excited about seeing the movie? Yes. Am I expecting it to remain true to the TV series that influenced a whole generation of women? (Manolos, Cosmopolitans, vibrators, cupcakes, going for brunch and yes, even the way we date). Unfortunately no I’m not.

The Past…

The Present….

Huge difference eh? Ah well, at the end of the day, I’m still planning on raising a cocktail glass (or three) to our fave New York Girls later tonight. Cheers!

One Response to “Why I Miss The ‘Old’ Sex And The City”

  1. delightfuleccentric May 29, 2010 at 12:20 AM #

    The only reason I am even interested in seeing this one is because of Aidan. I’ve always been an Aidan girl – to put it into today’s terms, I’m Team Aidan!

Leave a Reply

