Misreading The Signs, Much?

19 May

The other day a friend of mine (Hi Liz!) sent me this Yahoo article which advises us poor deluded singles on the surprising signs we should look out for when trying to figure out if someone is interested in us.

Here, take a look for yourselves: Ten Surprising Signs That They’re Interested

I mean, please. What does Yahoo take us for? Do they actually pay people to come up with this stuff? Ok, I know that in my present situation I’m hardly an authority on this type of thing BUT there is such a thing as common sense, surely?

 

Misleading Signs

 

Lets take a closer look at these ‘surprising signs’ shall we?

They don’t talk to you – This is the one point I can get with. I understand this because it’s the sort of thing I would do. When I see a guy that I like, I find it hard to even make eye contact. I lose all sense of my usually bubbly, chatty self and become aloof. So yes, in a weird way, I understand this one.

They tease you What, are we talking about 7 year olds here? According to the article, “attack is the best form of defence in love as in war”. Hmmm, ok then.

They hide from you – It’s like the school playground all over again. Teasing alongside a bit of hide and seek too. Wooo hooo, nothing like a bit of childhood  nostalgia eh?

They don’t seem to remember you – Wait. They were *that* drunk the first time we met?  Is it wrong that I would still expect someone to remember me after a “brief drunken encounter 6 years ago”? Mind you,  I’m not really one for brief encounters anyway (cough, Barbados 2009).

They suggest splitting the bill on the first date – I should take this as a sign that they’re interested in me? Really? Or maybe they’re a bit broke? Or they’re just a huge believer in feminism? Personally, I’d always like a guy to offer on the first date. I’d offer too but I think its more gentlemanly for him to put it out there first.

They push their shoulders back when they see you – Haha! A very common signal according to the article. Men puff out their chests and women arch their backs. Beware, if I ever see you doing this – I WILL laugh.

They flirt with your friend – Take note future dudes who maybe interested in me: If you’re flirting with my mate would NOT be the way to impress me. Most likely, I’d find an excuse to leave you to it. Who wants to be the the fifth wheel? I’d obviously think I’m in the way and leave you to get your groove on.

Their friend flirts with you – According to the article, this is a ‘classic strategy’ but I don’t get it. What if the friend is hot? What if I’d much rather go make out with your boy? You would have kicked yourself in the nuts there wouldn’t ya?

They babble nonsense at you – Aaah, I see. So all of the guys I meet who babble nonsense on a regular basis, they all fancy me?

They ring you up to moan about a terrible date – Huh? What? I can’t. I just can’t with this….

Have I got this all wrong? Are these signals actually the norm and I’m the one who is a total doofus? Help me out here peeps!

4 Responses to “Misreading The Signs, Much?”

  1. gabrielle brooke May 19, 2010 at 9:46 PM #

    Ohhh, I see why you’re confused.
    The original title was: Ten Surprising Signs that an Immature Douchebag Likes You but due to space restrictions, some words were edited out.

    • TheSingleFilez May 20, 2010 at 4:06 PM #

      Gabrielle. Yes! I think you’re totally right. At least, your title would have made so much more sense. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. notcomplicated May 21, 2010 at 12:35 AM #

    Seriously yahoo?! This is ridiculous. 7 reasons I will not be into you? You exhibit any of the above behaviors.
    Check this out for laughs:
    http://www.notcomplicated.wordpress.com

    • TheSingleFilez May 21, 2010 at 3:12 PM #

      Love, love, LOVE your blog! Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

