Am I The Queen of Bad Dates?

17 May

You know when you have a gut feeling about something, but you try to push it aside only to find out your gut feeling was right? Yeah well, that pretty much sums up my second date with Mr PAYG.

 

Queen of Bad Dates. That’s me!

 

For those who don’t know, I named him Mr PAYG (Pay As You Go) because when we first decided to take our conversation offline (we met via PlentyofFish) he told me that he couldn’t call me that night because he need to top up his phone credit first. Why on earth he felt the need to tell me that – a). he didn’t have enough money/credit on the phone to call me and b). inadvertently share he that didn’t have good enough credit for a contract phone – I’ll never know.

Anywhooo. I went on the second date planning to have an enjoyable evening but as mentioned in Friday’s blog post ‘The Jury’s Still Out‘ there were slight reservations lurking at the back of my mind. On the positive side, there were lots of jokes and laughter but at the end of the night I came home having decided that there definitely wouldn’t be a date number three. Let me try and break it down for you –

– On the first date I agreed to share a bottle (or two) of rose wine with him. Because, it’s what he drinks and he said it was cheaper to buy a bottle instead of individual glasses. Fine. However, this time the first thing he did when we got to the bar was start browsing the rose wine section of the menu and I pulled him up on it. “I drank nothing but rose last time because it was what you wanted. This time I’d like a rum & ginger beer please, cheers”. He sulked, but got the drinks in and the next round I returned the favour. After which he started on the economic benefits of sharing a bottle of rose again and for an easy life, I just gave in and went with the flow.

– I met him straight after work so naturally after a few hours of drinks, I’m HUNGRY. When I made him aware of this, do you know what he suggests? He suggests “a little place he knows”… and it turned out to be a kebab shop where we shared a portion of chips (fries, my US friends). Did I mention how hungry I was? I’m talking, ‘haven’t eaten since lunch and its now 10pm hungry’. I maybe small but please don’t get it twisted, I love to eat. (Side note: if I’m out with friends or even a guy I’d been dating for awhile I’d see nothing wrong with cheeky chips at the end of a night but even then, I’d want my own portion thank you very much!)

– Before heading home, he decided it would be a good idea to stop in the local Tescos superstore to buy another cheap bottle of rose to drink (whilst walking the streets) on the way back to the train station. Seriously dude? No, just NO.

Everything points to the fact that he is indeed an 18 year old in a 30 year old’s body. He still lives with his Mum, he has a pay as you go mobile phone (and seems to struggle keeping it topped up with credit), he doesn’t have enough common sense to realise if he’s invited a lady out for an after work date, the evening should actually include dinner (NOT standing up in a kebab shop sharing chips) and he thinks its appropriate to swig from a bottle of wine whilst walking down the street – NOT A GOOD LOOK! Also, I’ve since put two and two together and realised that the reason he still messages me on POF although he has my number is because…. it saves him money and means he doesn’t have to use his precious phone credit.

Come now, say it with me “ON TO THE NEXT ONE!”

13 Responses to “Am I The Queen of Bad Dates?”

  1. Kev May 17, 2010 at 3:57 PM #

    Oh dear. Good work nipping it in the bud now!

    Swigging wine walking down the road – what a catch …

    • TheSingleFilez May 17, 2010 at 4:18 PM #

      It’s bloody depressing. How can he think this is normal ‘date activity’? Talk about know how to show a lady a good time – NOT!

  2. Emma C May 17, 2010 at 4:46 PM #

    He drank a bottle of wine whilst walking home?? Yeah…definitely On To The Next One!

    • TheSingleFilez May 17, 2010 at 5:18 PM #

      Hey Emma, thanks for commenting. Yup, I was totally gobsmacked! Not quite anything like the dates J-Lo went on in The Back-Up Plan eh?

  3. delightfuleccentric May 17, 2010 at 11:52 PM #

    NEXT!
    Wow, that guy is REALLY special.
    But that does not make you the queen of bad dates. Unfortunately, online dating is bad date after bad date after mediocre date after terrible date. Someone told me just the other day that the average number of dates for online dating before finding someone you really want to date (and wants to date you) is 20 or 30.

    That’s an awful lot of frogs.

    • TheSingleFilez May 18, 2010 at 4:44 PM #

      Wait. What?? 20 or 30 more frogs before I get remotely close to finding my prince? Kill me now.

      😉

  4. setfronse May 25, 2010 at 5:03 AM #

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

    • TheSingleFilez May 25, 2010 at 12:24 PM #

      Thanks so much Christian. Lovely of you to say! I truly do appreciate your appreciation 😉

  5. Sally June 20, 2010 at 6:45 PM #

    Mr PAYG is a joker! This should be told alongside sex ed so boys learn what NOT to do, before they turn thirty! Sounds like his mum is the only woman he hasn’t scared off…

    • TheSingleFilez June 20, 2010 at 10:44 PM #

      Yes!! It should be added to the national curriculum when they hit secondary school. Drum suitable date behaviour into them from a young age.

  6. Charlene Odetola December 24, 2010 at 2:53 AM #

    Mr PAYG is TERRIBLE…..I’d actually like to talk to his ex girlfriends cos he obviously thinks this is the way a date is supposed to go….’swigging wine from a bottle on the street’……what is he??? 17 or something……ON TO THE NEXT ONE!!!

    • TheSingleFilez December 24, 2010 at 9:17 AM #

      Crazy huh? How on earth he got to being 30 years of age thinking this was acceptable date behaviour, I have no idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Kelsey ‘Grammar’ « shouldhaveputaringonit - July 5, 2011

    […] not running off to the shop to top-up your phone at any given moment. A favourite dating blogger The Single Filez of mine wrote about this a while […]

Leave a Reply

