Happy Monthiversary To Me!

3 May

YAY! HAPPY MONTHIVERSARY TO ME!

Slightly off topic I know, but, HAPPY MONTHIVERSARY to meeee! Ignoring the few random posts I did last year, The Single Filez  blog didn’t really and truly kick off until exactly a month ago along with my Twitter page and, what a month it’s been eh? Ok, admittedly, I still haven’t been on a date yet (and that is kinda the whole point) BUT I have been exposed to a whole new ‘world of dating’ that I didn’t know existed. Thanks to Twitter I’ve discovered lots of interesting, funny, sweet like-minded people many of whom are in the same boat as me. Also, I went a singles event courtesy of Sitting In A Tree and just yesterday I was included in We Love Dates Top Dating Bloggers on Twitter List (click here to see the list). Not bad for a month’s worth of work eh? Now, all I need are some actual dates!

Online Dating – Meh.

So, back to the matter at hand, this week’s dating update. Obviously, there’s the date with the 25 year old (see Friday’s post to do some swotting up), but even this is proving to be a pain. We haven’t managed to put a date in the diary yet, he lives and works in Basingstoke and only comes to London on the weekends but is busy for the next couple of weekends…. blah blah blah. I found myself losing interest with each text message. Too much hard bloody work! When/if he feels he can slot me in, we’ll take it from there.

Other than that, I’ve got a few conversations happening over at Plenty of Fish and I’ve revived my DatingDirect.com membership so have a few conversations going on over there too.

A bit bored of all this talking online to be honest. I’ve licked all my wounds from last year’s dating disasters and now I’m finally ready to dip my toes back into the dating pool. Question is, do I just do ahead and accept date offers from guys I’m not initially attracted to? I need content for this blog godammit!

I’ve gotten to the point where I’m thinking of  just lining up dates specifically so that I can blog about them. It’ll be fun,  right?  It’ll give me stories to share, it might open me  up to guys I wouldn’t normal consider AND who knows… I might find Mr Right in the process? What do you think? A good idea? Too harsh? Should I just be more patient? Please do comment share your thoughts…

2 Responses to “Happy Monthiversary To Me!”

  1. delightfuleccentric May 9, 2010 at 9:47 PM #

    Yes, all the talking online can get boring if there’s no real dating happening. I’m on the fence about going on a date just to have a date. I go through periods of pickiness, then periods of being entirely unpicky and just saying yes to everything. I think there should at least be a little something there, otherwise it will just make you feel worse – at least, that’s my experience. However, you just never know – when you meet someone you don’t think you’re interested in, that “click” can still happen.

  2. TheSingleFilez May 10, 2010 at 10:05 AM #

    Hey delightfuleccentric! Thanks for the comment. Yes I do agree with you on the ‘going on a date to just have a date’ thing. I probably wouldn’t even consider it if I wasn’t writing this blog. I feel that having started a blog about dating, I’ve put pressure on myself to actually get out there and DATE!

    Lucky me though, I went on two dates the past weekend. One great, the other not so great, but at least I’ve finally gotten the ball rolling. Will write about the dates shortly, watch this space 🙂

Leave a Reply

