My Online Dating Pet Peeves

12 Apr

After spending a lot of time browsing dating websites this weekend it has become obvious that I can’t rely on just dating websites alone to aid me in my search. Trawling dating sites is actually a bit tedious after awhile, it’s gotten to the point where I’d much rather be scouring the internet for a holiday or for a pair of shoes to be honest.

So that you can see where I’m coming from, I’ve decided to share some of my online dating pet peeves –

Mixed Messages. I receive a message from someone who seems pleasant enough so I respond with a bit of chit chat and next thing you know they automatically think that I’m interested. Errr…. no. I was just being polite and not ignoring your message mate. I guess I have to bear in mind that these aren’t social networking sites, these guys are there for one reason only… and it ain’t to make polite chit chat! From now on, I’m ignoring messages if I’m not interested.

Wannabe Models. Grown-ass men taking topless photos of themselves in the mirror and pouting at the camera. Really? I didn’t realise that I had signed up to be a judge for the male version of Britains Next Top Model.

Illiterate Mofos. Admittedly online dating makes a person a lot more critical than real life dating does. You can meet a guy in a bar, cafe, park and hit it off without knowing what his spelling and grammar is like. However, here on the net, a guy could look great in his photo and then you read his profile and he sounds like a right spacker. It’s so disappointing.

Just to give you a little taste of what I’ve been going through, here are some of the intro messages I have received:

“hey babes, what u up2?” – Umm. You write like a 14 year old, get lost!

“Ur smile is really wonderful with a lovely face, how are u and ur night. it would be nice to hear from u, keep sweet” Nice sentiment I know, but “how are u and ur night?”. Does that even make sense?

hello angel can i know you if u dont mind” No you can’t ‘know me’ and yes I do mind!

“Where are you from and are you on the phone! Can I take
your number?”
– This was a guy whose profile looked promising… and then I got that message. Can you take my number? No, you can’t. You haven’t even bothered to introduce yourself and tell me your real name and this is the first ever message you send to me?

“wow love your smile babes.:0)x “ – Being called ‘babes’ by a guy I don’t know really makes me uncomfortable. A guy I’m seeing, my friends, my family, yep fine. A stranger? Not so much.

“hi u ok nice pic just wanna say hi it would be nice to have a chat if u dont mind” – This guy doesn’t even have a pic on his profile. Do you really expect me to reply to you if you’ve contacted me saying “nice pic”, and you don’t have a photo up yourself? Don’t be silly now.

“hello, u have most beautiful eyes i have ever seen.i wish i was lucky man. xxxx” – Aargh, now I’m just tearing my hair out. Do these guys even read their messages back? Look at that sentence, just look at it!

“hello there ur profile make good reading du make the front page lol how r ya?” – SAY WHAT NOW? *throws hands up in exasperation*

All a bunch of weirdos!

Do you see where I’m coming from? Or do you think am I being way too critical? I mean, all of that and I’ve not even mentioned the two users I had to block due to the fact they kept on messaging me morning, noon and night. They didn’t feel that the fact I wasn’t responding was an indication of how I felt, oh no. I found it a bit creepy to be honest. Thank goodness for the ‘block user’ button!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to keep at it. It’s not all bad, there are some promising guys I’ve been speaking to (not managed to bag that elusive first date yet unfortunately) but this week I will be looking into speed dating events. Gotta keep it going!

Please do let me know your thoughts. Am I being too picky? Do you have any tips/ideas/suggestions for other ways I can get out there?

5 Responses to “My Online Dating Pet Peeves”

  1. Kev April 12, 2010 at 1:39 PM #

    “hey babes wot u up2?”

    Sounds like a certain Mr @nw3greens to me …

  2. delightfuleccentric April 25, 2010 at 12:31 AM #

    I feel your pain. I’m with you on all points, and almost every one is an immediate disqualification. There are a couple that I would (and have) given the benefit of the doubt and assumed English was not their first language.

    • TheSingleFilez April 25, 2010 at 10:25 AM #

      Thanks delightfuleccentric, its good to know its not just me! I actually added an extra bit to my online dating profile, hinting that I find it attractive when men write like adults as oppposed to like 13 yr old boys. Lets see if that makes a difference eh?

  3. Wendi B July 8, 2010 at 1:08 PM #

    I love this!! I love it because I can relate to it so much! I also have a profile on a dating website, and a guy I got talking to told me that I have ‘beautiful eyeballs’. He’d only been here about three years, and I could tell where he was from just by the way he said things, so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and met up with him, but he kept telling me I have beautiful eyeballs (instead of beautiful eyes) and I wanted to laugh so much. My friends have made fun of me about it relentlessly.

    Some of the things you have mentioned I like to call ‘Voluntary Illiteracy’ and I have also stated that any man who chooses this way of life need not contact me.

    • TheSingleFilez July 12, 2010 at 12:10 AM #

      Beautiful eyeballs? Wow, what a sweet talker.

      There are no words for some of these guys on dating websites, it’s like searching for a needle in a haystack. We gotta keep at it girlie.

Leave a Reply

