You Gotta Be In It To Win It, Right?

6 Apr

Dating Experts
Through a project I was working on at work, I was lucky enough to be able to speak to a dating expert & journalist (Laura Stott) and a life coach (Carol Ann Rice) about my current predicament.

This really excited me, mostly because I loved the idea of getting advice from people who didn’t already know me. My friends and family are biased (bless them) and I can’t count the amount of times they have told me “but you’re gorgeous”, “Mr Right will come when you aren’t looking/least expecting it” “Mr Right is just around the corner” blah blah blah, heard it all before. So I knew it would be beyond valuable to hear from peeps who don’t already know me. Experts who would look at my situation from a completely different point of view.

Gotta Be In It To Win It

In it to win it? Fingers crossed!

My chats with Laura Stott and Carol Ann Rice were both interesting and I came away with ”actions points” from each talk –

Join clubs where I might meet guys with similar interests. The gym, Spanish classes, dance classes (is it bad that I have a huge feeling my ideal guy would not be doing dance classes?), etc.

Make eye contact with a least two male strangers a week – this point is mainly to build up my confidence levels. I have a habit of looking at the ground or suddenly finding something really interesting way ahead in the distance whenever a spot a hot guy whilst out and about.

Go out on at least two dates a month. Since I stopped dating the guy from DD last year Sept, I’ve not been on one single solitary date. Lack of confidence? Lack of self esteem? Or just not desire to be rejected again? Who knows. But basically, I was reminded that its like the National Lottery, I have got to be “in it to win it”! I was told “Do you give up on applying for interviews just because you didn’t get one job?”, “If you fall off of a horse, do you give up trying to ride again?”. All extremely valid points. So, I was told I have to date again. If I go on enough dates, its more likely that I’ll find “Mr Right”. The key, I was told, is to look at it lightly. Don’t think of each guy as a “potential Mr Right”, just have dinner, have drinks, have fun. Which brings us onto the last point…

Add an element of fun to it – such as a diary or an online blog (hey, whaddya know, thats exactly what I’m doing!)

In the words of the beautiful Aaliyah (RIP) “If at first you don’t succeed, dust yourself off and try again”.

Leave a Reply

